Scroll Down

Wedding Reviews 2021

Janine McLoughin and Ian Lacey, New Year's Eve, 31st of December 2021
Ian and I had our Wedding Reception in The Shamrock Lodge Hotel on the 31st of December. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Paddy, Alan, Warren and all the team for the professional service that they provided us and our guests. The meal was delicious and the food was outstanding as always, nothing was too much trouble. Everything was just perfect, we had the most amazing day. I would highly recommend this Hotel and all the amazing staff.
Our day was a dream come true.
Thank you so much.
Mr & Mrs Lacey



Nicola Wykes and David Maloney, Friday 29th of October 2021

We recently got married at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, and we had the best day we ever could have imagined. The hotel was so easy to deal with. The staff were amazing, and the food was delicious. Warren, Alan and all the staff could not have done enough for us. From the bottom of our hearts we will be forever thankful to Shamrock Lodge Hotel.



Rachel and Thomas O Connor, Saturday 23rd of October 2021

Wow, where to begin. Alan and the team at Shamrock Lodge really went above and beyond to ensure that we had the most amazing day. From beginning to end, the attention to detail was superb. From the decor to the food, it was just amazing. From the very beginning, we were both at ease. We couldn’t recommend Shamrock Lodge Hotel enough. A superb family run business, with amazing staff.



Kelly Herbert and Ciaran Kenny, Thursday 21st of October 2021

We celebrated our special day here at Shamrock Lodge, and it was a beautiful day, from start to finish. The staff here are amazing. They decorated the room, and organised everything for us. They did a fantastic job, we were so happy they kept me calm as I went to walk up to my now husband. The food was amazing, and all of our guests enjoyed the day. Thank you all again, such an amazing bunch of people and myself and Ciaràn were so happy we picked Shamrock Lodge to have our special day there. I wouldn't change it for the world xx so thankful xx.



Elaine Keenan and Patrick O'Malley, Friday 8th of October 2021

Honestly what can we say except that Shamrock Loge Hotel is the most amazing wedding venue. We had the best experience thanks to all the staff at Shamrock Lodge. We couldn't thank you all enough. The food was amazing, and that isn't even doing it enough justice. The staff were fantastic and just made our day so special. Alan, Warren, Paddy, Mary especially were just a joy to deal with and made our entire wedding experience so easy and hassle free. I would highly recommend Shamrock Lodge Hotel to anyone and everyone for their wedding venue. You honestly won't find anywhere better. It is a brilliant value for money also. As I said earlier, everything was faultless, from start to finish, of our wedding experience.



Deirdre McElroy and Vincent Donnelly, Friday 1st of October 2021
When we first got engaged, we knew we wanted to get married at Shamrock Lodge Hotel. From our very first meeting with Alan up until the end of our wedding day, the team could not have done more for us. We had our ceremony and reception in the hotel. The space provided for the ceremony created the perfect atmosphere for an intimate wedding. We were in contact with Mary all throughout our planning. She answered all of our (many) questions, and helped us plan every detail meticulously. Alan, Paddy and Warren could not have done more for us on the day of the wedding, and made sure everything ran smoothly. The food was amazing and plentiful. All of our guests commented on the excellence of the food, and how friendly the service was. We had quite a few dietary requirements among our guests, and the chef was so accommodating to all of our requests. We would 100% recommend Shamrock Lodge Hotel for a wedding. Their attention to detail is second to none, and our day was perfect. Thanks again to Alan, Paddy, Warren, Mary and all the staff, for making it so special!



Olivia Hussey and Michael O Hanlon, Saturday 18th of September 2021
When choosing our wedding venue, we knew we were going to have it at Shamrock Lodge Hotel as it is a family run hotel. We have always loved the hotel for nights out, party nights etc., and it exceeded our expectations as a wedding venue. It was the best day ever. From start to finish our experience has been exceptional. Alan, Paddy and all of the staff are experts in their field. No matter how big or small our requests were, they obliged and they answered every question promptly and in detail. The food was amazing and our guests commented on how hot and good it was. Everything was perfect. We would highly recommend Shamrock Lodge Hotel to anyone getting married. Thank you so much to all of the Shamrock Lodge team. x



Emer O Hara and Vincent Doyle, Saturday 11th of September 2021
Prior to our wedding, looking for a venue, when we first stepped into the Shamrock Lodge, there was a feeling of having come home, almost like, we finally arrived. Having visited endless hotels, and drank questionable cups of bottomless coffee across the north-west, we finally had hope. Having arrived at the hotel, we both quickly realised that the warmth of the Shamrock Lodge, Athlone, somehow evoked both our childhoods and our future together. At this point …we were only in the foyer. This place has magic. The receptionist’s smile caught us both by surprise, so genuine. All hotel receptionists smile, but here, you could almost taste a genuine sense of tradition in her greeting, a tradition that was respected and upheld by all the staff in this family run business. This hotel clearly cares for their staff, and it shows and pays off and this will show on your wedding day, staff that care and take genuine pride. The management staff welcomed us and brought us through the different options, and the complimentary pint was very welcomed after buckets of coffee elsewhere. Having chosen the Shamrock Lodge within minutes, we both knew this was the place without a doubt. The day we arrived at the Lodge, after getting married, that feeling of coming home - our family and friends around us cheering us on- the feeling of togetherness, was somehow and uniquely echoed in the service, the architecture, and the environment, in this family-run Irish business. The staff are just that bit better than other establishments that we experienced… they seem to care that bit more. That is what makes the difference on yoru big day. They know their customer, they spend that extra minute, the food is that bit more tender and the wine seems sweeter. Practically, for photographs, the grounds are amazing, curling in the driveway in your wedding-car is quite an experience! One the day, management was never more than a glance away, for the entire night, which for us was most impressive. Nothing, absolutely nothing, was a problem, and most impressively, the overall price reflected our budget and they worked with us, a young couple starting out! We could speak about the beautiful, mouth-watering food, or the cream that was the Guinness, or the architecture that is a resplendent reflection of years of a family-owned business that has moved with the times whilst never having forgotten its roots, however, that would overlook the receptionist or the bar staff, or the cleaning staff who make this hotel what it really is, a place of absolute comfort, style, elegance, and a genuine Irish welcome and these are the tradespeople who will make your day, finely trained experts in their own craft. This hotel is a sophisticated Irish home. It is your chance to experience what you want in your heart, what you can see, yet cannot find. This hotel, its staff and facilities are what you are searching for. Working alongside them (in terms of preparation, in advance) is so easy, no panic, no drama, just professionalism diluted with understanding. In short… The Shamrock Lodge is the place to choose! We both feel so thrilled, so happy, and so relieved having found and chosen the Shamrock Lodge, Athlone, for our wedding venue. We cannot wait to go back to visit soon for our anniversary, and many more to come, please God. We both feel like we have a genuine connection to this family-run, Irish business, for life, where we can visit for the occasional winter or autumnal escape as our years together, progress. This hotel, in short, is truly special, and for us, it was not just a day, but merely the first day, at home, at the Shamrock Lodge. Need we say more?
Vincent & Emer Doyle. September 11th, 2011.



Aoife and Seamus Kiernan, Friday 10th of September, 2021
We had our wedding day at Shamrock Lodge Hotel on 10.9 21. It was the best day of our lives. Paddy, Alan, Warren and all the Shamrock staff went above and beyond for us and our guests. The service was second to none. Our guests still speak of how it good the food and service was. Anything we asked of Shamrock nothing was problem. I highly recommend this hotel and if I could give it ten stars I definitely would as they deserve it. You will not be disappointed if you book your wedding here. It's a 5 stars from us.



Aisling Brennan and Keith Byrne, Thursday 2nd of September 2021
We recently had our wedding in The Shamrock Lodge and couldn't be happier with how the day went, and a lot of it was down to the hotel. Alan was so easy to deal with before the wedding and nothing ever seemed like it was too much. We had our ceremony in the hotel. I had wanted to decorate a lot myself and the hotel were so accommodating allowing me to have as much input as I wanted whilst also being so helpful and taking care of us and our guests on the day. The hotel looked beautiful and had that relaxed feel that we wanted. All of our guests commented on how wonderful the hotel staff, food, and the atmosphere were, and everyone had a great time.

The hotel ensured that the current guidelines were followed making sure everyone felt like they were in a safe environment, while at the same time, making the day feel as normal as it would have felt pre-covid. We can't fault the hotel for their service before and during the day of our wedding. Alan and the team have gone above and beyond. I have been at the hotel for other events over the years and I have never had a bad experience. We would highly recommend The Shamrock Lodge for weddings and any other event! Aisling & Keith Byrne



Meresa Elardo and Kevin Duffy, Saturday 21st of August 2021
We knew that we made the best decision for choosing Shamrock Lodge Hotel as a venue for our wedding reception. From planning, up to the day of the wedding, the Shamrock Lodge team gave their best to accommodate our request and preferences. They really live up to their motto of "let our family look after yours". We are very happy with how our wedding celebration went, from welcoming us with red carpet up to the next day of our check out. Our family and friends were delighted with the venue, staff and the meal. The food is superb and the service is really good. My husband and I would like to say a big thanks to Paddy, Alan, Mary, Warren and the rest of the team. Thank you for a job well done and for the extra mile effort that made our big day so special.



Mark Shannon and Patrick Hughes, Saturday 31st of July 2021
We had our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel on the 31st of July, 2021. To say we had the best day ever is the understatement of the year. It was more than either of us could have ever dreamed of. The hotel and wedding coordinating team were so accommodating and made sure that we were always happy with everything leading up to the wedding. From the moment we met with the coordinator when we were viewing the hotel, we knew that we had found the perfect place. The welcoming atmosphere and the bubbly personalities that we met walking through the door just captured our attention and instantly put smiles on our faces. You can really tell that it is a family run hotel, as all the staff really come together and present as a strong, caring family unit.

Warren and Mary worked tremendously hard behind the scenes and on the weekend of our wedding. There was no question too big or too small. There is usually a lot of stress around wedding planning, but Mary took all that stress away and replaced it with fun and laughter. You feel very much at ease planning your wedding with the coordinators. There was fantastic attention to detail from service, to food, to décor and function room layout. The hotel team was always so attentive and ‘on the ball’. The food was exquisite and is something so many of our guests raved about after the wedding. The private garden beside the function room is the perfect backdrop for wedding photos. There was a lovely flow to the day from drinks, to the reception, to photos and meal, to first dance. Everything ran perfectly smoothly and that is due to the exceptional organization and work carried out by the Shamrock Lodge team.

The team at Shamrock Lodge couldn't possibly do any more for us. They went above and beyond to make sure our wedding was the most magical day for us. They welcomed any ideas that we had in mind and were incredibly accommodating. If we were to do it all again, we definitely would pick the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Thanks so much for everything!!



Tracy Smith and Frank Egan, Friday 30th of July 2021
What an amazing day. The hotel was fabulous. Mary was an amazing coordinator, and went over and above to make our day special. It was above and beyond our expectations. They made our day so special and relaxed. I can't recommend Shamrock Lodge Hotel enough!




Miriam Doolan and Sean Breen, wedding on Sat, 24th of July 2021
We celebrated our wedding reception in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel on July 24th 2021. From our, first meeting with Alan, he was so kind and helpful as he listened to all of our suggestions and requirements. We felt assured that with his experience and attention to detail we would have a wonderful day.

Everyone in the hotel from Nicola on reception to Warren and Paddy, all worked quietly in the background to ensure we had a perfect day. We were planning our wedding while restrictions were gradually being eased, so this resulted in some uncertainty and challenges with our planning. However this never caused us concern because Alan constantly worked with us, to ensure we had the wedding day we always wanted. Alan also made some very helpful suggestions, regarding slight amendments we could make, in order to ensure we got the most out of our day. We are so glad we listened to his advice as those small changes really enhanced our day.

From speaking with our guests, they all mentioned how great the food was. All our tables were served quickly and well timed together. The food was beautifully cooked and it was noted by several of our guests that it was hot and fresh when it arrived to the table.

We had very high expectations on what we wanted from our wedding reception and we can honestly say that the Shamrock Lodge hotel surpassed them. We also liked the fact that they really valued our business, we understand they have several weddings every month, but they truly made us feel as if our wedding was their priority. They are experts in the area of wedding receptions and they have not become complacent despite all the success they have in this area.

Finally when our wedding was over and we returned to the hotel a few weeks later to dine in their restaurant, Nicola, Alan, Paddy and Warren all took the time to stop and speak with us and gave us a lovely welcome and high level of service. This is a testament to the fact they truly value their customers. Miriam & Sean.



Fiona & Padraic Dolan, Saturday 17th of July 2021
We cannot say enough about this family run hotel. Both Paddy & Alan and the entire staff could not do enough for us on our wedding day. The atmosphere was so relaxed and chilled, making us very at ease. The food was absolutely superb. Our guests are still talking about the great food and the wonderful day they had. We would highly recommend this hotel for your wedding or any event that you may have coming up. A huge thank you again to Paddy & Alan and the staff at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We had a fantastic day.




Emma Donlon and Stephen Ormsby, Friday 16th of July 2021
After having viewed a few venues, Stephen and I chose Shamrock Lodge Hotel as the place we wished to hold our wedding reception back in 2019. The world was then hit by a global pandemic, which added in no small way to the stress that already comes with planning a wedding.

Mary, Alan and all the staff at Shamrock Lodge Hotel were a huge help in this time. Their patience and understanding of the situation we were in as restrictions were imposed, and we were unsure if we would proceed with the wedding as planned, was of great reassurance to us. They never once put us under pressure and indeed our table plans were changing right up until the week of the wedding. Again this was no problem. As a couple, this was the most important factor for us in dealing with the hotel. There was no problem to big or too small and they accommodated us with every request.

On the day the service from the staff was top class, and the food was exceptional. The beautiful gardens are a perfect backdrop for photos of the day as well. The room was beautifully decorated for the day, and we were delighted with how the wedding went. All present had a great night and were highly complimentary of the hotel.

We would recommend Shamrock Lodge Hotel to any couple planning their big day.