Wedding Reviews

Angela Kenny (Mother of the Bride), March 2016

On Friday 18th March 2016 Nessa Kenny and James Carter were married in the fabulous Shamrock Lodge Hotel. From the first day we met Alan McCaul he could not have been more accommodating. Everything we mentioned or needed was not a problem. Nessa and James really enjoyed the tasting before the wedding. On the eve of the wedding we went there to decorate the room. Alan wouldn't hear of it. He said his staff would do it, and boy did they do a spectacular job. Everything was done to perfection. The room looked fantastic.

On to the meal. There isn't a hotel in Ireland that would have served such a meal from the starters to the main courses they were fantastic as everybody agreed. Service was extremely fast, food piping hot and beautiful to taste. The staff, from the waiters waitresses, bar persons, were so welcoming, attentive, polite. The girls on reception were second to none. Anything that was requested was looked after in a professional, courteous manner. Nothing was a problem. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were beautiful and the bridal suite fabulous.

I hope I did not leave anything out. All I can say is that I highly unreservedly recommend the Shamrock Lodge Hotel for your wedding. Thank you so much Alan and all your staff. Photos to follow which you may wish to post on to your page. Kind regards, Angela Kenny (Mother of the Bride)

Nessa and James, March 2016

From the very bottom of our hearts James and I would like to thank the management and staff of the Shamrock Lodge for making our wedding on Friday so special. We could not have asked for more from a venue, everything was perfect from the attention to detail in the room, to the food, to the atmosphere. We have been inundated with compliments on how well everything went and how great the staff and service was. It was honestly faultless. We had a fantastic day. We cannot rate the Shamrock Lodge high enough, they were so helpful and accommodating they made the planning of the day so simple and stress free.
We recommend anyone who is looking for a wedding venue to call down to them and have a chat with Alan.
Thanks again for everything, Nessa & James ♥

AnnMarie and Damian, February 2016

A massive thank you to Warren, Alan, Paddy and all the staff of the Shamrock Lodge Hotel for making our wedding day the most perfect special day ever. The ballroom was stunning and exactly as we wanted it to be! The food, the service and the attention to detail is first class. Without a doubt the best hotel around for a wedding.

Selina and Michael, February 2016

My wife and I got married on the 13/2/16. From the day we booked with Paddy and his son Alan, we couldn't have asked for a more friendly and useful service. If we need a penny they would give us a euro in return. The most nicest friendliest family hotel and staff we have ever met. From doing up our dinner list to sampling it, there wasn't one fault. They tried to meet our budget as much as we tried to make sure they were happy too. As for the food itself, everyone has complemented us on the choice but there is no way we could have done it if it wasn't for the staff of the Lodge. They were the ones who cooked it, to serving it, so we know we couldn't have had a good experience without them. Thanks so much and if anyone ever wants to ask just give the Lodge a ring and I know for a fact they won't hesitate in answering any questions.

Sarah and Alan, October 2015

We had our wedding here on the 3rd October 2015. Everything was outstanding. Alan was so easy to deal and made sure that everything was perfect. Everyone we dealt with were so friendly and helpful. Our guests are still complimenting the amazing food and service which you all provided. Could not recommend ye highly enough. Thank you for making our day amazing.

Amy and Eoin

From the day I got engaged I knew I would be having my reception here. The hotel was fab. Paddy,Warren,Alan and all staff members were outstanding. They could not have possible done anymore for us and gave us a reception we would never forget! The whole day was brilliant. We had a big wedding and nothing was a problem to them. They were so professional. I would highly recommend the Shamrock Lodge for your wedding reception. It's like home from home & you really are treated like one of the family!
Thanks again!
Amy&Eoin Fox.

Elena and Eddie

I can safely say on our wedding day, one of the few things I had no worries about was our reception in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Alan, Paddy and all the staff could not have done more for us and made us and our guests feel more welcome and comfortable. Nothing was an issue and no request seemed to be a problem. We would like to thank everyone at the Shamrock Lodge for everything they did for us.

Deirdre and Patrick, September 2015

To Alan, Paddy & all the staff at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Patrick & I would like to say a big thank you for such a beautiful amazing day. Our wedding day was on the 5th September last. From start to finish Alan you were great, you were so helpful and made sure our day was perfect in which 100% it was. The Shamrock Lodge Hotel is such a great place for a wedding or any occasion with excellent food and staff, everything was perfect. We would highly recommend this hotel to any couple getting married. It really is 10 out of 10 service. Thanks so so much again.

Sandra and James, July 2015

If you are looking for a fantastic venue for your wedding, we 100% recommend the Shamrock Lodge Hotel in Athlone. We had our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge on the 18th of July 2015 and couldn't be happier with the venue we chose.

The hospitality from Alan & Paddy McCaul and all the staff was top notch. Everyone we dealt with was friendly, helpful and down to earth. From the very first meeting with Alan, the General Manager, we were made to feel welcome and that nothing would be a problem with planning the wedding. We live in Australia but even this huge distance was no problem as we had numerous calls and emails with Alan to keep us up to date with anything we needed to do. Nothing we asked for was an issue, they really are professional and make the whole wedding venue planning process actually easy and fun!

We, our families and guests had a fantastic weekend. We honestly cannot fault anything. We received so many compliments about the food and service, everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were looked after perfectly. Alan was personally there for the whole wedding day to make sure we were happy and that everything was running smoothly.

The hotel has been newly renovated and all of our overseas guests were very impressed with the rooms. We also took advantage of the lovely gardens and different areas of the hotel for our photographs on the day. Our whole wedding experience was amazing thanks in a large part to the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We really look forward to going to my sister’s wedding there next year.

Haley and Rory, June 2015

The Shamrock Lodge staff were incredibly helpful when planning and executing my entire wedding day. They worked with my family in planning because I live in the States, along with countless emails back and forth. When my husband and I arrived, they went over all of the decisions that were made. The staff made sure everything was perfect for us and our traveling wedding party.

Thank you for all of your hard work and dedication to us as guests.

Denise and Eddie, June 2015

Myself and Eddie had our wedding reception here on Saturday the 27th June 2015. Big thank you to Alan and Paddy McCaul and their staff. They were absolutely fantastic! Their hospitality and food was outstanding. Myself, Eddie and our guests were warmly greeted and well looked after throughout the day and night. You were absolutely brilliant. We couldn't have asked for any better. We would highly recommend The Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Once again, thank you from both Eddie and I for an absolutely fantastic day. Everything was just perfect and we will definitely be back in the near future.

Valerie and Derek, June 2015

Alan and all the staff in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel, thank you so much for making our wedding day so magical! The food was fantastic and staff very friendly. We felt so welcome. Definitely would recommend this hotel for weddings. Thanks again guys.

Rachel and David, May 2015

We had our wedding at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel on the 30th of May this year. From start to finish, Alan and the team at the hotel couldn't do enough for us. Everything that we asked for was taken on board. As for the day itself, it was perfect. Nothing forgotten and everything went better than we could have expected. The ball room looked amazing. After dinner our guests were taken to another reception room for dessert . This really added to the atmosphere. To say the food was delicious is an understatement. People are still talking about it. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Quality food and service. A day we will never forget .

Deirdre and Padraic, December 2014

I just have to say I cannot rate this hotel and staff highly enough. We got married New Years Eve 2014 and everything was perfect. The hotel cannot do enough for you. Highly recommended!

Ailish and Darren, September 2014

We celebrated our wedding on the 12th of September 2014. Everything from start to finish was perfect. Thank you to Paddy & Alan for making us feel at home and to all the staff for being so helpful and kind. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and the food was fantastic. We had such a memorable day , will be recommending your hotel to all our friends and family. Thanks again!

Sabrina and Eamon, September 2014

To all the staff and management at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel, just a little note to say thank you very much. On the 25th September 2014 we had our wedding at the hotel and we both had such a great day. All the staff and management were so helpful and friendly, we couldn't ask for better because everything was perfect. I would recommend the hotel to everyone whether you are staying for a night away or an event. Thank you once again!

Sarah & Denis - August 2014 

Alan and all the staff at the Shamrock Lodge,

Myself and Denis just want to thank you all sincerely for an amazing wedding reception! Everything ran smoothly and the room looked beautiful. All of you were so professional and friendly on the day and everybody commented on how good the food and service was on the day and all that weekend.

Thank you also for looking after the family for lunch over the weekend, there was no need but it was much appreciated!

I have to say you have been great all the way through the planning of the wedding and have been very reassuring. it just made everything easy for us.

In my opinion the Shamrock Lodge Hotel is the only venue for a wedding in Athlone! You were outstanding. Thanks again for everything.


Tanya and Norman, August 2014

We had our wedding here on the 1st August 2014. What a great place for a wedding, everything was perfect. Hotel staff are very friendly and the managers are great Alan and Paddy McCaul. We dealt with Alan for our wedding, he is so helpful and makes sure your day is perfect. Thank you Alan. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, fantastic food and lovely gardens for pictures. Everything is 100%.

Ailish & Sean - April 2014

Had an absolutely amazing wedding day on 12th April last. Myself & Sean & all of our guests felt so relaxed & comfortable. Everybody raved about the food on the day. Alan,Paddy,Warren & the rest of the team are true pros. Just wish the day was longer! 

Michelle & Joseph - April 2014

Cant give this hotel enough stars for a rating. We got married on the 26th of april. Alan made our day so perfect and everything i asked for was in order. He even pulled off my quirky requests.The Shamrock lodge hotel are 110%. Thank you for making our day the best day ever. 

 Christine & Ryan - November 2013

We would like to thank Warren and the staff at the hotel for the best wedding day we could have hoped for. They could not do enough for us and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend the hotel for any function you may have. thanks again guys. 

Caoimhe & Michael - March 2012

We were delighted with our decision to have our wedding at The Shamrock Lodge, Athlone. Sharing our day at a family run hotel made it very personal. All the staff were amazing. The management, the office staff, the receptionists, the room service, the kitchen and the bar staff were all on hand and happy to help with anything we required.

The attention to detail was fabulous, not just on the day but in the months and weeks leading up to the wedding. We really felt that we were taken care of and nothing was too much to ask for. The gardens and the hotel looked perfect on the day and they were ideal for our photo shots. The food and service was top class. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Shamrock Lodge to any couple looking for a wedding venue

Caroline & Dessie - May 2012

Thank you all so much for a wonderful day you made myself and Caroline feel so special on our wedding day. A special thank you to all the staff who excelled themselves, they looked after our guests magnificently they are a credit to you. 

 Oonagh & Brian - May 2012

Got married in the Lodge this May. It truly was an unforgettable experience. From our initial meeting to make the booking and throughout we felt looked after. Good advice was always provided when asked and nothing was too much to do. The hotel looked beautiful on the day of the wedding. All the guests commented on the quality of the food, the staff and how nice the function room looked. There is much to be said for experience and when it comes to weddings the Lodge has it!

Thanks to all in the Shamrock Lodge for an amazing day x

Sarah and Darren Lennon - June 2012  

From the minute we booked our wedding at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel the attention and care we received was second to none. No request was too big for the management and staff. Guests at our wedding still talk about the food and the atmosphere on the day, not to mention the beautiful ballroom. We couldn’t be happier with how the day went and that is thanks to Alan, Paddy, Warren and all the staff.

Brian & Gillian Kelly - December 2012

We want to thank you so much for a fantastic day. Every guest had so much praise for the hotel. We are delighted with how everything went and you and your staff were a pleasure to deal with. You have a fantastic team of staff and the ball looked amazing. Honestly we cannot say enough about The Shamrock Lodge Hotel, we just had to send our thanks before we went on honeymoon- so again Thank you to all at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone we had an unbelievable day.

Bernie & Karl Allen

"Our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge was everything we could have hoped for and more. Planning the event through the staff in the lodge was a pleasure from start to finish. All our requests were granted without question and the staff went above and beyond at every step. I was very surprised to see one of the duty managers outside the church after the ceremony only to discover she was there to collect our church flowers and lanterns. When we arrived at the hotel we realised she had brought them to the hotel and placed them in various places around the reception room. A really lovely touch and totally unexpected! Having attended a number of weddings in various locations it is extremely clear that Paddy, Alan and staff never fail to make each couple feel like their wedding is the most important wedding ever to be held in the hotel!

Print