Wedding Reviews

Niamh and Damien, September 2016

Well, where do I begin?! We had the most amazing experience here in The Shamock Lodge Hotel. From the day we first visited and met with Alan McCaul we were hooked. Alan was so down to earth, realistic and unbelievably helpful and accommodating. We had looked at numerous venues prior to visiting the Shamrock Lodge but none of them were on par or had a wedding coordinator as personable as Alan. We told Alan exactly what we wanted and he arranged everything without having to have meeting after meeting with us. It was straight forward and effortless for us and we had the most amazing day of our lives here under the care of Alan, Warren and their team. The food was incredible! Our guests are still raving about it almost 3 months on. Booking this hotel was the best choice we ever made - it made our wedding! I cannot thank Alan, Warren and team enough for the exceptional job they did for us on our big day, it was incredible. Thank you! :)

Angela and Richard, September 2016

We had our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel on September 9th and from our very initial inquiries with Mary Glynn, the wedding co-ordinator, everything went like clockwork. Everything was so well organised. The hospitality was fantastic, the food was excellent and the staff were so helpful and friendly on the day. Even the night before I was onto the hotel a few times, checking if different items were delivered to the hotel and they were so responsive and pleasant to deal with. It was so easy and stress free. Having the civil ceremony in the hotel was very convenient for the elderly guests at the wedding. The bridal suite was beautiful, breakfast the next morning was fantastic and all the staff were so friendly. Everyone who attended the wedding told me afterwards how much they enjoyed the day and commented how excellent the food and service was. I would like to thank Paddy and Alan McCaul and Mary Glynn for all their time and effort and indeed all the staff at the Shamrock Lodge for making our day so special. I would highly recommend it to any couple who are planning their big day!

Tammy and Kenneth, August 2016

I can't thank the management and staff of The Shamrock Lodge Hotel enough for helping to make our day so magical. From start to finish you catered to our every need. We are still getting compliments from guests about the food and hospitality provided. Ye went over and beyond. Not only that, the beautiful grounds catches some fab snaps and great memories. I would highly recommend ye. The Shamrock Lodge has been our families first choice and will continue to be for future functions. Thanks again so so much.

Tara and Michael, August 2016

We had our wedding in The Shamrock Lodge Hotel in August this year. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough, the management and staff welcomed us from the onset and couldn't do enough for us. On the lead up to the wedding and on the day of the wedding they went above and beyond to make it a day to remember. They have recently done up the ballroom, bridal suite and gardens and our photos turned out amazing. The food can not be faulted it was so tasty and the portions were plentyful. The hotel itself has a very family friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

Lynn and David, August 2016

Fantastic hotel for a wedding reception and lovely location to visit Athlone town. We had our wedding here in August, friends and family travelled over from England and stayed Thursday to Sunday, they could not compliment the Shamrock enough! The staff are happy and friendly, the food is fabulous and fantastic value for money. All I can say is there is a sprinkle of magic poured over the Shamrock when they host a wedding that can never be captured on any website or review. A big thank you to Alan, Paddy and all the staff that made our wedding such an amazing experience for us and our guests. Lynn and David, 5th August 2016.

Caragh and Neil, July 2016

We cannot praise the Shamrock Lodge enough for the wonderful wedding day that we had. We came over from England to get married in my families home town and the staff were brilliant from start to finish. It made the whole process so much easier for us as a family. Mary the wedding planner was extremely helpful and with the help of all of the staff made sure our special day ran smoothly. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a wonderful day and those personal touches - you are treated as one of the family from the minute you walk through the door. It will be a day that stays with my husband and I forever and one that the guests are sure to never forget!x

Robert and Catherine, July 2016

Great day had by ourselves and our wedding party. The Shamrock Lodge, Paddy and Alan and staff were highly professional in how they run the day for the bride and groom, all done in the best way possible. The food is excellent as is the service by both waiting staff and bar staff alike. The surrounding gardens make a great location for the all important photo gallery of the bride and grooms big day. We had a ball couldnt fault the performance and professnalisam of all at the Shamrock Lodge. They stand by their motto (let our family look after yours), 10 out of 10!

Anne and James, June 2016

Myself and my husband celebrated our wedding in June in the hotel. I literally cannot praise the management and staff enough. They were simply amazing, our guests are still raving about the food, the friendly staff and the lovely homely vibe and electric atmosphere that was in the hotel the entire weekend. The management were outstanding catering to our every need/request in the build up to our big day. The whole team in the lodge worked so hard for our 300+ guests the entire weekend. I really felt everyone lived up to the hotels motto of "let our family look after yours".... It was literally a home away from home for three days! Thank you all for an unforgettable weekend and really making our wedding extra special!

Sinead and John Michael, June 2016

To Paddy, Alan, Mary and all the staff, thank you so much for a wonderful day! The food was delicious, everyone complemented the food, we wouldn't change a thing. Also the staff were very friendly and helpful in every way. A few of our guests are booking their weddings with you soon .Thank you so much again ☺

Lisa and Pat, June 2016

We had our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel on June 11th 2016. From the word go Alan couldn't do enough for us, from our pre wedding meetings down to the fine details. On the day itself everything was just perfect. The food, the decor and the service was 100 per cent. Without hesitation the Shamrock Lodge is in my opinion the best wedding venue in the Midlands. Thanks Alan and staff for making our day just perfect!

Fiona and Thomas, May 2016

We had our wedding at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel in May. I have to say we were very happy with the whole day. The food and atmosphere were excellent, the staff couldn't do enough. I would highly recommend this venue for any event. Thanks again for making our day so special.

Sinead and Oliver, May 2016

Could not recommend a better hotel to have your wedding reception. Alan, Warren and all the staff were just so professional and catered for our every need. The reception room looked fabulous and the food was amazing. When we booked The Shamrock Lodge Hotel for our wedding, we knew it was something we would not have to worry about. We would honestly not have had our wedding anywhere else.

Catherine and Karol, May 2016

The Shamrock Lodge Hotel was just outstanding. From when we first met Alan, we knew we would have no worries. He is so brilliant to work with, and no job is too big for him. The Shamrock Lodge did everything in their power to ensure our day went off without a hitch, and it did! They promise quality and excellence, and we got it. Any request we had, big or small, was met. I found them so helpful. The food and service for our wedding was excellent, and I guarantee you, you wouldn't go hungry! Overall, our whole experience from our first meeting with Alan, the whole way through until our big day, and even throughout our big day, was brilliant. Alan is a real hands on manager and we appreciated him checking in with us throughout our day making sure we were happy with everything. A beautiful family run hotel with a relaxed, stress free atmosphere. Couldn't recommend it enough to any couple!

Noirin and Feargal, April 2016

We got married in The Shamrock Lodge in April 2016. It was the only choice for us when finding a venue as my family have always gone to The Shamrock Lodge over a long number of years and always received a five star service. From the minute we made contact with Alan we received a very professional but personal service which was a fantastic experience from beginning to end. There is nothing that we asked for that Alan didn't make happen for us and he went above and beyond what we had expected. He is also a very warm and easygoing guy while at the same time you know that he is reliable and has it all covered . The hotel looked amazing on the day, the food was beautiful and the staff were all so good. There is such a good team in the Shamrock Lodge that all played a big part in making our day so special to us, our Family and Friends. We could not recommend The Shamrock Lodge enough to anyone getting married as it really is the Best!! 

Aine and Damien, April 2016

We got married in the lovely Shamrock Lodge on the 23rd of April 2016. We had heard rave reviews from some friends that got married there and from the minute we spoke to Alan, the manager, and looked around with him, we could see why it was so popular. We had also both been to a lot of weddings here and the food and atmosphere was always lovely. From the get go Alan, Paddy, Mary and the team were so good to deal with. Nothing was too big a request or too silly a question. At our meal tasting we got enough food to feed a small army and Alan was so open to any of our suggestions. On the day itself we had a ball. The food was great, everyone was raving about it. We got a lot of comments from people saying they felt it was very relaxed and the hotel was very homely. We were so delighted that people had a great time and that feedback was positive. The barmen were also very obliging to us late into the night and we all had a blast, no one moved us out of the ballroom and they let us continue on with our sing song with no hassle. We had a lot of guests stay over the second night and again the hotel was so good and they really looked after us on the second night too. Overall we are so delighted that we picked the Shamrock Lodge in Athlone. We are in a town packed with hotels and venues for weddings but I would have no hesitation in recommending here as it is family owned and run, the staff are so good to deal with and we had an amazing day. Thank you so much, Áine & Damien Ryan

Angela Kenny (Mother of the Bride), March 2016

On Friday 18th March 2016 Nessa Kenny and James Carter were married in the fabulous Shamrock Lodge Hotel. From the first day we met Alan McCaul he could not have been more accommodating. Everything we mentioned or needed was not a problem. Nessa and James really enjoyed the tasting before the wedding. On the eve of the wedding we went there to decorate the room. Alan wouldn't hear of it. He said his staff would do it, and boy did they do a spectacular job. Everything was done to perfection. The room looked fantastic.

On to the meal. There isn't a hotel in Ireland that would have served such a meal from the starters to the main courses they were fantastic as everybody agreed. Service was extremely fast, food piping hot and beautiful to taste. The staff, from the waiters waitresses, bar persons, were so welcoming, attentive, polite. The girls on reception were second to none. Anything that was requested was looked after in a professional, courteous manner. Nothing was a problem. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were beautiful and the bridal suite fabulous.

I hope I did not leave anything out. All I can say is that I highly unreservedly recommend the Shamrock Lodge Hotel for your wedding. Thank you so much Alan and all your staff. Photos to follow which you may wish to post on to your page. Kind regards, Angela Kenny (Mother of the Bride)

Nessa and James, March 2016

From the very bottom of our hearts James and I would like to thank the management and staff of the Shamrock Lodge for making our wedding on Friday so special. We could not have asked for more from a venue, everything was perfect from the attention to detail in the room, to the food, to the atmosphere. We have been inundated with compliments on how well everything went and how great the staff and service was. It was honestly faultless. We had a fantastic day. We cannot rate the Shamrock Lodge high enough, they were so helpful and accommodating they made the planning of the day so simple and stress free.
We recommend anyone who is looking for a wedding venue to call down to them and have a chat with Alan.
Thanks again for everything, Nessa & James ♥

AnnMarie and Damian, February 2016

A massive thank you to Warren, Alan, Paddy and all the staff of the Shamrock Lodge Hotel for making our wedding day the most perfect special day ever. The ballroom was stunning and exactly as we wanted it to be! The food, the service and the attention to detail is first class. Without a doubt the best hotel around for a wedding.

Selina and Michael, February 2016

My wife and I got married on the 13/2/16. From the day we booked with Paddy and his son Alan, we couldn't have asked for a more friendly and useful service. If we need a penny they would give us a euro in return. The most nicest friendliest family hotel and staff we have ever met. From doing up our dinner list to sampling it, there wasn't one fault. They tried to meet our budget as much as we tried to make sure they were happy too. As for the food itself, everyone has complemented us on the choice but there is no way we could have done it if it wasn't for the staff of the Lodge. They were the ones who cooked it, to serving it, so we know we couldn't have had a good experience without them. Thanks so much and if anyone ever wants to ask just give the Lodge a ring and I know for a fact they won't hesitate in answering any questions.

Sarah and Alan, October 2015

We had our wedding here on the 3rd October 2015. Everything was outstanding. Alan was so easy to deal and made sure that everything was perfect. Everyone we dealt with were so friendly and helpful. Our guests are still complimenting the amazing food and service which you all provided. Could not recommend ye highly enough. Thank you for making our day amazing.

Amy and Eoin

From the day I got engaged I knew I would be having my reception here. The hotel was fab. Paddy,Warren,Alan and all staff members were outstanding. They could not have possible done anymore for us and gave us a reception we would never forget! The whole day was brilliant. We had a big wedding and nothing was a problem to them. They were so professional. I would highly recommend the Shamrock Lodge for your wedding reception. It's like home from home & you really are treated like one of the family!
Thanks again!
Amy&Eoin Fox.

Elena and Eddie

I can safely say on our wedding day, one of the few things I had no worries about was our reception in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Alan, Paddy and all the staff could not have done more for us and made us and our guests feel more welcome and comfortable. Nothing was an issue and no request seemed to be a problem. We would like to thank everyone at the Shamrock Lodge for everything they did for us.

Deirdre and Patrick, September 2015

To Alan, Paddy & all the staff at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Patrick & I would like to say a big thank you for such a beautiful amazing day. Our wedding day was on the 5th September last. From start to finish Alan you were great, you were so helpful and made sure our day was perfect in which 100% it was. The Shamrock Lodge Hotel is such a great place for a wedding or any occasion with excellent food and staff, everything was perfect. We would highly recommend this hotel to any couple getting married. It really is 10 out of 10 service. Thanks so so much again.

Sandra and James, July 2015

If you are looking for a fantastic venue for your wedding, we 100% recommend the Shamrock Lodge Hotel in Athlone. We had our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge on the 18th of July 2015 and couldn't be happier with the venue we chose.

The hospitality from Alan & Paddy McCaul and all the staff was top notch. Everyone we dealt with was friendly, helpful and down to earth. From the very first meeting with Alan, the General Manager, we were made to feel welcome and that nothing would be a problem with planning the wedding. We live in Australia but even this huge distance was no problem as we had numerous calls and emails with Alan to keep us up to date with anything we needed to do. Nothing we asked for was an issue, they really are professional and make the whole wedding venue planning process actually easy and fun!

We, our families and guests had a fantastic weekend. We honestly cannot fault anything. We received so many compliments about the food and service, everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were looked after perfectly. Alan was personally there for the whole wedding day to make sure we were happy and that everything was running smoothly.

The hotel has been newly renovated and all of our overseas guests were very impressed with the rooms. We also took advantage of the lovely gardens and different areas of the hotel for our photographs on the day. Our whole wedding experience was amazing thanks in a large part to the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We really look forward to going to my sister’s wedding there next year.

Haley and Rory, June 2015

The Shamrock Lodge staff were incredibly helpful when planning and executing my entire wedding day. They worked with my family in planning because I live in the States, along with countless emails back and forth. When my husband and I arrived, they went over all of the decisions that were made. The staff made sure everything was perfect for us and our traveling wedding party.

Thank you for all of your hard work and dedication to us as guests.

Denise and Eddie, June 2015

Myself and Eddie had our wedding reception here on Saturday the 27th June 2015. Big thank you to Alan and Paddy McCaul and their staff. They were absolutely fantastic! Their hospitality and food was outstanding. Myself, Eddie and our guests were warmly greeted and well looked after throughout the day and night. You were absolutely brilliant. We couldn't have asked for any better. We would highly recommend The Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Once again, thank you from both Eddie and I for an absolutely fantastic day. Everything was just perfect and we will definitely be back in the near future.

Valerie and Derek, June 2015

Alan and all the staff in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel, thank you so much for making our wedding day so magical! The food was fantastic and staff very friendly. We felt so welcome. Definitely would recommend this hotel for weddings. Thanks again guys.

Rachel and David, May 2015

We had our wedding at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel on the 30th of May this year. From start to finish, Alan and the team at the hotel couldn't do enough for us. Everything that we asked for was taken on board. As for the day itself, it was perfect. Nothing forgotten and everything went better than we could have expected. The ball room looked amazing. After dinner our guests were taken to another reception room for dessert . This really added to the atmosphere. To say the food was delicious is an understatement. People are still talking about it. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Quality food and service. A day we will never forget .

Deirdre and Padraic, December 2014

I just have to say I cannot rate this hotel and staff highly enough. We got married New Years Eve 2014 and everything was perfect. The hotel cannot do enough for you. Highly recommended!

Ailish and Darren, September 2014

We celebrated our wedding on the 12th of September 2014. Everything from start to finish was perfect. Thank you to Paddy & Alan for making us feel at home and to all the staff for being so helpful and kind. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and the food was fantastic. We had such a memorable day , will be recommending your hotel to all our friends and family. Thanks again!

Sabrina and Eamon, September 2014

To all the staff and management at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel, just a little note to say thank you very much. On the 25th September 2014 we had our wedding at the hotel and we both had such a great day. All the staff and management were so helpful and friendly, we couldn't ask for better because everything was perfect. I would recommend the hotel to everyone whether you are staying for a night away or an event. Thank you once again!

Sarah & Denis - August 2014 

Alan and all the staff at the Shamrock Lodge,

Myself and Denis just want to thank you all sincerely for an amazing wedding reception! Everything ran smoothly and the room looked beautiful. All of you were so professional and friendly on the day and everybody commented on how good the food and service was on the day and all that weekend.

Thank you also for looking after the family for lunch over the weekend, there was no need but it was much appreciated!

I have to say you have been great all the way through the planning of the wedding and have been very reassuring. it just made everything easy for us.

In my opinion the Shamrock Lodge Hotel is the only venue for a wedding in Athlone! You were outstanding. Thanks again for everything.

Tanya and Norman, August 2014

We had our wedding here on the 1st August 2014. What a great place for a wedding, everything was perfect. Hotel staff are very friendly and the managers are great Alan and Paddy McCaul. We dealt with Alan for our wedding, he is so helpful and makes sure your day is perfect. Thank you Alan. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, fantastic food and lovely gardens for pictures. Everything is 100%.

Ailish & Sean - April 2014

Had an absolutely amazing wedding day on 12th April last. Myself & Sean & all of our guests felt so relaxed & comfortable. Everybody raved about the food on the day. Alan,Paddy,Warren & the rest of the team are true pros. Just wish the day was longer! 

Michelle & Joseph - April 2014

Cant give this hotel enough stars for a rating. We got married on the 26th of april. Alan made our day so perfect and everything i asked for was in order. He even pulled off my quirky requests.The Shamrock lodge hotel are 110%. Thank you for making our day the best day ever. 

 Christine & Ryan - November 2013

We would like to thank Warren and the staff at the hotel for the best wedding day we could have hoped for. They could not do enough for us and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend the hotel for any function you may have. thanks again guys. 

Caoimhe & Michael - March 2012

We were delighted with our decision to have our wedding at The Shamrock Lodge, Athlone. Sharing our day at a family run hotel made it very personal. All the staff were amazing. The management, the office staff, the receptionists, the room service, the kitchen and the bar staff were all on hand and happy to help with anything we required.

The attention to detail was fabulous, not just on the day but in the months and weeks leading up to the wedding. We really felt that we were taken care of and nothing was too much to ask for. The gardens and the hotel looked perfect on the day and they were ideal for our photo shots. The food and service was top class. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Shamrock Lodge to any couple looking for a wedding venue

Caroline & Dessie - May 2012

Thank you all so much for a wonderful day you made myself and Caroline feel so special on our wedding day. A special thank you to all the staff who excelled themselves, they looked after our guests magnificently they are a credit to you. 

 Oonagh & Brian - May 2012

Got married in the Lodge this May. It truly was an unforgettable experience. From our initial meeting to make the booking and throughout we felt looked after. Good advice was always provided when asked and nothing was too much to do. The hotel looked beautiful on the day of the wedding. All the guests commented on the quality of the food, the staff and how nice the function room looked. There is much to be said for experience and when it comes to weddings the Lodge has it!

Thanks to all in the Shamrock Lodge for an amazing day x

Sarah and Darren Lennon - June 2012  

From the minute we booked our wedding at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel the attention and care we received was second to none. No request was too big for the management and staff. Guests at our wedding still talk about the food and the atmosphere on the day, not to mention the beautiful ballroom. We couldn’t be happier with how the day went and that is thanks to Alan, Paddy, Warren and all the staff.

Brian & Gillian Kelly - December 2012

We want to thank you so much for a fantastic day. Every guest had so much praise for the hotel. We are delighted with how everything went and you and your staff were a pleasure to deal with. You have a fantastic team of staff and the ball looked amazing. Honestly we cannot say enough about The Shamrock Lodge Hotel, we just had to send our thanks before we went on honeymoon- so again Thank you to all at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone we had an unbelievable day.

Bernie & Karl Allen

"Our wedding in the Shamrock Lodge was everything we could have hoped for and more. Planning the event through the staff in the lodge was a pleasure from start to finish. All our requests were granted without question and the staff went above and beyond at every step. I was very surprised to see one of the duty managers outside the church after the ceremony only to discover she was there to collect our church flowers and lanterns. When we arrived at the hotel we realised she had brought them to the hotel and placed them in various places around the reception room. A really lovely touch and totally unexpected! Having attended a number of weddings in various locations it is extremely clear that Paddy, Alan and staff never fail to make each couple feel like their wedding is the most important wedding ever to be held in the hotel!