Enter Promotional code:    
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Gallery - Shamrock Lodge HotelSign Up to the Shamrock Lodge Hotel newletterWedding Brochure - Shamrock Lodge HotelWedding Enquiry Form - Shamrock Lodge HotelReviews - Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Read Reviews

Read Reviews (195)
) based on

by Visiting from Cornwall on Oct 29 2015 19:50

Wonderful. The welcome, the staff team, the location, the food, the room. Nothing to fault! Shamrock Lodge has thought of everything. Thank you for a really comfortable stay we wish it was longer.

by Debbie on Oct 20 2015 10:19

I Stayed in your hotel myself and three children, in one of your family suites - very enjoyable, lovely food and great service.

by Ian Butler on Oct 14 2015 09:17

Hi, We returned to stay in the Shamrock Lodge again after a wonderful first experience last year. We stayed on a Sunday night in early October 2015 and had a fantastic time. Hotel was busy and atmospheric especially due to the big night in Irish sport (Ireland/France - Rugby & Poland/RoI - Soccer). Rooms are bright and spotlessly clean. Hotel is ideally located in a quiet leafy area of Athlone but only an 8 minute stroll to the centre. I also recommend Gertie Browne's pub for a pint or two. Hope to return soon.

by Roseann on Oct 9 2015 18:25

Lovely location close to Shannon Walk (amazing European Heritage site - saw cranes and swans so so relaxing). Hotel was friendly, food fab and room perfectly ok! Would definitely stay again. Bar staff exceptional and other staff attentive and could not do enough to help.

by Fiona Graham on Sep 15 2015 08:59

Had a fabulous stay here last weekend. Recieved the warmest of welcomes. Room was spacious, comfortable and spotless! Food in bar that evening was delicious as was breakfast the following morning. Will definitely be returning here and will recommend to all. Thank you.

by anthony collins on Sep 13 2015 17:26

once again the shamrock lodge hotel comes up thrumps 'we had a lovely stay 8th -11th september 'to all the staff front desk/bedroom staff/bar staff/dining [kathleen] and to the chefs for the wonderfull food''the hotel was spotless all over ''a big thanks to paddy and alan[manager]''we will see you in march 2016

by iris kelly on Sep 6 2015 10:19

hi, we stayed at the hotel on a Thursday night people coming and going but still there was a nice quiet athmosphere. staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.the room was big and cosy and very well presented. the price per room per night is excellent. I will have no hesitations staying again. iris, tara paul

by John Brennan on Sep 4 2015 10:27

We stayed 2 nights, end of August 2015. Excellent hotel, Staff very professional, helpful and friendly Quiet location, Would recommend +++

by Karen on Aug 25 2015 01:42

Lovely hotel, great value for money. Good location to the town. We got passes to Glendeer Farm, which was a great day out.

by monica holmes on Aug 24 2015 20:57

This is my fourth stay at your hotel on each occasion i have had a most enjoyable stay rooms spotless comfy beds staff very friendly & helpful food excellent I would really recommend the shamrock lodge for anybody staying in Athlone. On this occasion I had booked in for 3 nights but unfortunately there was a emergency at home which meant I had to check out earlier when I explained my problem the staff could not have been more courtious & helpful. I will be returning great value for money. rating5

by Honeydays on Aug 19 2015 08:37

We had a lovely stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. On arrival we were given a warm welcome and given a very nice room. The room was lovely and all the staff were most helpful

by Andrew Cruickshank on Aug 16 2015 23:36

Had a lovely stay here. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all great value.

by Catherine O'Reilly on Aug 8 2015 16:29

Had a lovely two night break. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and bright. The food was great both in the bar and restaurant. The breakfast was delightful a great way to start the day. The hotel was within walking distance to the town for both shopping and sightseeing. Would highly recommend the hotel to friends and family. Look forward to staying there in the future.

by John Reilly on Aug 8 2015 10:02

Excellent hotel room lovely food first class all perfect Rgds J P

by on Aug 7 2015 09:08

just back after spending night in shamrock lode hotel had lovely time hotel staff so friendly helpful hotel food very good couldnt fault hotel will be back again.marie mayo

by S Loughran on Aug 4 2015 08:33

Very nice hotel, spacious room, nice breakfast, but don't stay on the 1st floor as you can hear the music from the function rooms and the bar.

by Anne on Aug 3 2015 11:04

We had a lovely 2 night stat at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel when we were down for the Galway races. The bedroom was very spacious, the food lovely and the staff courteous. With 2 wins and a 3rd at the races, a good time was had by all! Anne

by Big D on Jul 31 2015 10:40

We enjoyed our stay, staff were very courteous particularly Melissa in the restaurant. It was great to get the vouchers for the pet farm, we had a lovely day there. We stayed in suite 218, and it would be handy if there was a toilet roll holder in the en suite, also maybe if the staff could mention the deposit for remote control at check in it would save the hassle of having to go back to reception. We enjoyed the breakfast where there was a good selection of food for both adults and children. However the quality of the main courses could be improved, perhaps gravy on the side as a starter.

by margaret bennett on Jul 31 2015 01:28

We had a wonderful stay at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel,just as we did in 2013, I would not stay in any other hotel in Athlone,we have stayed in 2 other upmarket hotels in the town ,they were not a patch on The Shamrock Lodge,The staff were so helpful and courteous, the rooms so clean and comfortable and the food superb,I would highly recommend this hotel to any discerning traveller who wants comfort and good value. Regards Margaret Bennett & Monica Holmes.

by Nan on Jul 30 2015 15:42

Excellent helpful staff. Comfortable modern room. Quiet room even though a very large wedding was occurring at the same time we were there. Wonderful breakfast. Highly recommend staying here.

by Sk on Jul 26 2015 15:07

Had a great stay, really big room, really clean, the bathroom is also big with a great shower and bath.

by Ciaran Sheehan on Jul 25 2015 21:23

I arrived with my partner between 10.30pm and 11pm and I was met by a smiling and friendly Deirdre at the front desk. It was late and I was famished so I decided to ask if it was possible to get something to eat. Deirdre immediately answered that she would check with the kitchen and would a couple of sandwiches fill the gap until morning. I was in the bar having a drink when the sandwiches duly arrived. Was I ever so happy to see a couple of sandwiches. The room was lovely, clean & airy. At breakfast the following morning there was an excellent mix of cereals, breads & fruit yoghurts. The waitress was friendly and attentive. I ordered a full Irish Breakfast and it arrived promptly, having been cooked to perfection. The grounds and hotel were kept in very good condition and we really enjoyed our short stay. Will definitely be back when visiting Athlone again.

by Maura on Jul 13 2015 09:47

We stayed here for 1 night. Lovely hotel, very reasonable rate. Rooms were lovely and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

by Mark on Jul 6 2015 11:22

Very enjoyable stay friendly staff and great location, only a short walk to the river.

by Brian & Mary B on Jul 5 2015 15:59

The wife & I love, love loved the Shamrock. LOCATION = Perfect. The first stay was for two days right after landing at Dublin (we're from California) after 3 whirlwind days in the south of England. The idea was to spend two days catching our breath within easy walking distance of downtown while being away from the bustle. The Shamrock is literally a few minutes from Sean's Pub, the Shannon river and the rest Athlone has to offer. THE FACILITY = Excellent. I guess if your tastes run more to say, The Sheraton or Radisson you might find a minor thing or two to quibble over, but we found The Shamrock Lodge to be clean, well maintained and very nice. Add to this -- the attractiveness of the grounds (abundant grass, trees, shrubs) -- ample open-air parking (no underground concrete trap here) -- upscale dinning hall and authentic pub with food service (Food better than good) -- spotless rooms with tasteful decor AND vigorous shower/water pressure (unlike much of Ireland) -- good quality internet service, both wired (in the room) and wireless throughout the grounds THE STAFF = Excellent. Helpful without being intrusive BONUS Points -- in the rooms (at least the rooms we stay in, the windows open more than a crack, even on ground floor -- It's QUIET here, more like a stay in the country -- Athlone is delightful for a good sized town, and as everyone will tell you "It's in the center of Ireland" We enjoyed our stay enough to adjust our plans and, three weeks later spend our last two days in Ireland at The Shamrock - the second stay only confirmed our first experience.

by Helen Burke on Jul 2 2015 14:38

Check in was effortless. The room was clean and comfortable if a bit tired and dated. I couldn't use the over bath shower as I have a problem with mobility, if I had been staying longer I would have asked about a walk in shower. The bar staff were very pleasant. I was very disappointed with the choice and quality of breakfast, but I suppose this was reflected in the price. We had a problem with the TV and two of the lights didn't work, we did check if the switches worked

by Gail on Jun 12 2015 20:22

Large hotel, nice but showing its age. Bar food OK only. Good location within walking distance to downtown and driving distance to historic attractions.

by TERESA on Jun 7 2015 12:26


by H.E. Co. Wicklow on Jun 5 2015 10:25

Enjoyed our two day break. Hotel was comfortable and unexpectedly good value. Would stay again.

by Breege Kelly on Jun 1 2015 18:36

I was at the Wedding of Mark Gallagher and Aisling Gunning recently in Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Really enjoyed the day. Food was very good staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms very clean and comfortable. 9/10.

by Francie on May 17 2015 16:13

Very comfortable stay, with friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to town which was very pleasant to walk around in the evening. Central to lots of Ireland. Would have like more information about local restaurants and attractions.

by Mrs Barbara Toms on May 14 2015 15:42

Good facilities splendid food and very friendly and helpful staff . Would highly recommend.

by Geraldine Monahan on May 11 2015 22:51

I stayed here after my nieces wedding and was very happy with the service i got, The staff where always helpful. Room was clean and cosy, towels and bed linen where also clean,,,

by Derbhla Flaherty on May 6 2015 16:20

Had a beautiful stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel a few nights ago. The place itself is lovely and the room was amazing for a really good price. I rate this the full 5 stars as I really believe it deserves it. The staff at reception were lovely and gave us all the information we needed to know. I was recommended this Hotel and I will definitely be recommending this to my friends. Thank you very much, Derbhla Flaherty.

by Suzy on May 1 2015 10:44

Really enjoyed my short stay. The room was great and so was the breakfast. Would definitely choose to stay again when I am back in Athlone

by anthony collins on Apr 19 2015 11:07

had 2 wonderful nights in the shamrock lodge 15th/16th april'thanks to deirdre/deborah/ruairi the most pleasent receptionist's anyone could wish to meet they are so helpful no mater how busy they are''our room was big and spotless the bathroom was spotless and has the best shower i ever come across a big thank you to the chamber maids''thanks to fintan/daniel in the bar for their wonderful service ''the food is excellent from the lovely breakfast to the very excellent dinner and a great menu thanks to the chef and waiting staff''to paddy the owener who is a gentleman and to you alan for running the hotel so well'''we have stayed in many hotels across ireland the shamrock lodge athlone cmes out tops and is our no1 hotel to stay in ''we have stayed in the shamrock lodge 5 times in the last 2 years and each stay never fails to live up to our expectations it always feels like home'''thanks again to all your staff in the shamrock lodge hotel athlone and we will see you in early september''''''''''anthony collins lucan co dublin

by Vladislavs Sulins on Apr 19 2015 10:54

We stayed in the apartment for 2 nights in April. The suite is spacious and clean, with two toilets, one shower and bathroom . The suite overlooks the backyard, which is a beautiful green area. The nights were quiet and calm, good sleep quality. Place is charming and cozy, and with a modern edge. :-) I would definitely stay here again! I liked this place because: - staff is charming and polite, helpful and smiling - room is clean and spacious - breakfast is great, :-) You can also choose from a many of warm dishes for breakfast, - a ten minute walk to Athlon castle - beds were very comfortable, I slept very well -Cattle, fridge, microwave , TV, coffee and tee, were in the apartment I will most likely stay at this hotel. :-) Thank you for nice place.

by Es on Apr 17 2015 20:03

Hotel clean and tidy, stayed for two nights. Quiet and peaceful, breakfast not much to shout about but bar food was lovely. Staff nice, young barman the nicest of all. Would return.

by Liam on Apr 5 2015 01:39

I stayed at the Shamrock Lodge for one night for a friend's wedding. The Hotel was very easy to find with plenty parking. The hotel was very good value.I would stay again.

by helena coleman on Mar 31 2015 13:41

I stayed 2 nights in Shamrock Lodge for a friend's wedding. The staff and food at the wedding were great. It was a little disappointing that people stayed in the lobby and bar for the wedding band, which took from the atmosphere. The apartments were ideal for a group of friends. The hotel was great value and perfect location for walking into town. Would definetely stay again.

by Helen Conway on Jan 23 2015 11:55

Had a lovely stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel recently. Lovely, facilitating Staff. Our room was clean and warm. Relaxing Hotel to stay in. We will be back again.

by Mary McNamara on Jan 17 2015 10:36

We enjoyed our recent stay at the hotel and were made very welcome and comfortable. Indeed our family has a long connection with the Shamrock Lodge, going back many years. Two things to mention (constructively!). We have come to expect availability of complimentary wifi on our travels and, secondly, we were disappointed when we could not see a programme on UTV. Thanks.

by Dave on Dec 15 2014 13:43

Very relaxing; there was no disturbances the night I stayed so I had a very peaceful sleep. Loved the shower the following morning; the large shower head drenches you in warm water; really nice. Breakfast was good and the staff are friendly. I was there mid week on business and strongly recommend the hotel for someone who wants to relax after a days work and recharge the batteries for the following day.

by yvette on Dec 2 2014 08:50

Food was delicious had a mouthwatering burger in the bar and the choice was huge for breakfast didn't know where to start. Pleasant surprise. Thanks

by AMNeatham on Nov 16 2014 22:02

Shamrock Lodge is a lovely hotel. We were there for a family reunion, there were 2 other large events in the hotel, and they were able to keep them all as individual events. It never felt crowded or too noisy. The food was lovely and the room quiet and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel and be happy to stay there again.

by Davina Farrell on Nov 5 2014 18:47

Stayed for a 2 night stay excellent hotel fab rooms gorg food in both bar and restaurant, also staff couldn't be nicer to us and the kids, overall a great hotel and defo be back. Davina Farrell Ardee

by Caoimhe McGowan on Nov 3 2014 21:36

Stayed in the apartments. Was delighted with the accommodation very spacious and extremely clean. Would recommend to anyone.

by Mrs ita Cunningham on Oct 31 2014 11:41

Our stay at the Shamrock lodge Hotel was excellent. We found the Hotel very warm and inviting with very friendly and helpful staff We complement the sheff who provided a very tasty four course meal which was very well presented. I would recommend this hotel to our friends and family. Thank you. Mr and Mrs Cunningham

by con oleary on Oct 28 2014 17:49

Myself and my wife stayed for a weekend in your hotel .We had a great time the hotel was lovely the bedroom was spotless and nice and big.The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you .Food was of a high standard and will visit again .I highly recommend this hotel

by geoff/rita on Oct 14 2014 10:30

great hotel staff and room excellent bar prices reasonable would recommend to all.
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland
Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Clonown Rd, Athlone, Co. Westmeath, Ireland  t: +353 (0)90 6492601  f:+353 (0)90 6492737 
Reservations and General Enquiries:

Copyright Shamrock Lodge Hotel 2012

Dublin Breaks I Galway Breaks I Wexford Breaks I Laois Breaks I Mayo Breaks I Athlone Breaks I Cavan Breaks I Sligo Breaks I Limerick Breaks I Cork Breaks
Maldron Hotels I Active Retired Breaks I Gym Membership I Family Breaks I Weddings I Golf Breaks I Spa Breaks I Leisure Clubs I Meetings & Events
Maldron Hotel Belfast I Maldron Hotel Parnell Square Dublin I Maldron Hotel Smithfield Dublin I Maldron Hotel Tallaght Dublin
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise I Maldron Hotel Wexford I Maldron Hotel Cork I Maldron Hotel Derry I Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport I Maldron Hotel Pearse Street I Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway I Maldron Hotel Limerick I Maldron Hotel Galway
Aghadoe Heights Hotel I Ballsbridge Hotel I Belvedere Hotel Parnell Square I Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Fitzwilton Hotel I Hotel Ballina I Pillo Hotel Ashbourne I Cavan Crystal Hotel I Clarion Hotel Sligo I Dundrum House Hotel I Clayton Hotel Galway I Clyde Court Hotel I Diamond Coast Hotel I Shearwater Hotel