Arrive:
Nights:
Enter Promotional code:    
 
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Gallery - Shamrock Lodge HotelSign Up to the Shamrock Lodge Hotel newletterWedding Brochure - Shamrock Lodge HotelWedding Enquiry Form - Shamrock Lodge Hotel360 Video Tour - Shamrock Lodge HotelReviews - Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Read Reviews

Read Reviews (64)
(
4.28/5
) based on
64
reviews.

by PK on Feb 9 2014 09:28

Excellent
 
 
 
 
 

by k.f on Jan 22 2014 15:39

stayed here recently for a wedding. could not have been happier. check in was quick and easy. room was spotless, comfortable and warm. staff were friendly and helpful, special mention to Melissa, the waitress at our table that day. she was extremely efficient and friendly. would definately reccommend the Shamrock Lodge for a break away.
 
 
 
 
 

by Michelle Wynne on Jan 18 2014 08:15

Lovely hotel! The rooms are big, warm and the bed is very comfortable! Staff are very friendly and helpful with anything you need. Really enjoyed my stay here :)
 
 
 
 
 

by Mike Dalton on Jan 7 2014 23:27

I stayed at the Shamrock Lodge last weekend, I found the rooms to be clean and well maintained and the staff friendly, I found the rooms to be great value and the Hotel is in close proximity to the town.
 
 
 
 
 

by Chris Hughes on Jan 1 2014 01:31

I stayed with my family, and it was enjoyable, clean, the food was excellent, the service was excellent to name Clodagh is excellent, will come back again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Irene henson on Dec 24 2013 10:30

Stayed on Saturday night after attending the party night. Food was great and plenty of it too and served piping hot:)) The room was excellent, comfortable and warm. The breakfast was great. The staff at the shamrock lodge hotel are very friendly and can't do enough for you. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Adrian Helliwell on Nov 26 2013 09:23

The hotel from the outside had a real authentic look on arrival and it was a slight shame there were automatic doors which sort of took that feel away. Inside was a mixture of modern and old which is nice though my wife did comment on it being a shame the staircase windows were not transparent. The rooms are great with all you need and the bathroom A1. Our only niggle would be the breakfast...it felt like a school canteen and the choice away from the fry was poor. The staff were all friendly and everywhere seemed clean. We will be returning. Thanks Adran Helliwell
 
 
 
 
 

by JB on Nov 18 2013 17:11

Our short stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel was perfect for our needs and they provided a simple but comfy two bed apartment, a welcoming environment and a fantastic breakfast. Thanks.
 
 
 
 
 

by damien foley on Nov 14 2013 19:43

Brillant hotel.lovely staff great food.cant wait to go back,little piece of heaven
 
 
 
 
 

by San on Nov 8 2013 12:22

Stayed for two night B and B and one dinner, nice cosy hotel, good size rooms and friendly staff, we had dinner on our second night and it was excellent, we look forward to staying here again
 
 
 
 
 

by Rosie on Oct 31 2013 08:51

We had an enjoyable stay in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel .From the moment we arrived the pleasant & helpful staff made us feel so welcome .Our family room had everything we needed . We had dinner in the beautiful restaurant & again the fantastic staff went out of their way for the children so that they could have what they wanted . Breakfast on the 2 mornings of our stay was lovely . Overall a lovely hotel with top quality & friendly staff , great value for money & family friendly . we would stay there again if in Athlone .
 
 
 
 
 

by Dan Smith on Oct 30 2013 08:28

Many thanks to all the staff at the Shamrock lodge hotel who made are stay very enjoyable. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with our four children and the room was excellent food was good and the staff were great with the kids, Hopefully will be back in the near future. Dan, and family
 
 
 
 
 

by margaret on Oct 24 2013 16:28

Hotel Staff very friendly and helpfull. Food Good and generally a very nice hotel to stay. I would certainly recommend this Hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by H Conway on Oct 18 2013 15:38

Enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel recently. Room very nicely done and spacious. Everything you need is there. Will definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Russell on Oct 3 2013 14:06

2 Nights B & B with 2 Dinners-excellent value, quality and value. All staff very courteous and helpful. Breakfast sets you up for the day and the 3 course evening meal provides an enjoyable end for the day.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dee on Aug 29 2013 18:33

Beautiful hotel, centrally located in the heart of the town. Surrounded by nice gardens and walkways. Ideal for families especially the apartments, which had fridge and microwave. Food was lovely and we were pleasantly surprised by evening entertainment on a Wednesday night!
 
 
 
 
 

by dolores on Aug 26 2013 13:29

Good value, friendly staff and close to town centre
 
 
 
 
 

by Eileen fallon on Aug 22 2013 21:27

Hotel lovely with nice food.busy weekend when I stayed but would have loved a table for breakfast by our selves and not stuck in at the end of long one,while lots of others remained free.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne T on Aug 20 2013 21:21

Busy hotel when we arrived as there was a wedding going on there but the very pleasant receptionist assured us that our bedroom would be nice and quiet as it was in the new wing of the hotel. How right she was. Lovely big double room, with a pullout bed set up for our son. Lovely quiet room. Nice breakfast , the following morning. I would be quite happy recommending this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Kathryn on Aug 17 2013 17:16

Very friendly staff from the reception to the bar, and breakfast in the morning. We stayed in the apartments attached to the main hotel which would have been more suited if we were staying for more than one night, but we were very happy with the great accommodation. Loads of space for a family, clean and well equipped. The bar was very nice and the food was good. Very well situated for the town, a short walk away. Family friendly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ian Butler on Aug 17 2013 10:55

We had an excellent stay in the Shamrock Lodge. The hotel and grounds were very pleasant. The room was luxurious, well appointed and quiet. The bar was busy with a good mix of locals and guests leading to a great atmosphere but the staff were friendly and efficient so service was very good. The hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet area just a short walk from the town centre. Following a lovely night in Athlone and drinks in the hotel the breakfast was brilliant with great quality of food and great service. It set us up nicely for another day of site seeing. We can't think of anything we could fault during our visit. Look forward to staying again on our next mini-break. Ian & Deirdre Butler
 
 
 
 
 

by Phelim on Aug 11 2013 21:30

Stayed for my sisters wedding. Outstanding value and wedding fair. Very comfortable room. An excellent wedding or relaxing location
 
 
 
 
 

by Gerry on Aug 11 2013 12:18

Perfect stay. Lovely staff, great food, nice quiet location but yet still very central to all amenities in athlone. Would stay there again no problem
 
 
 
 
 

by laura blair on Aug 6 2013 15:15

This hotel is beautiful , it is spotless ,great food and staff are lovely ,we attended a wedding here and it was fabulous .i would recommend this hotel for a wedding venue .
 
 
 
 
 

by Sandra on Aug 4 2013 09:27

The Triathlone took place on the weekend of our stay and due to road closures and lack of access to the hotel we almost switched to another hotel. However we are very glad that we did not. When we eventually checked in, the gentleman on reception was very apologetic and welcoming. The facilities for disabled guests were very good and the food was excellent. All staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very quiet despite hosting several functions and Triathlone participants. We hope to return at a future date when we have more time to enjoy the hotel and its gardens.
 
 
 
 
 

by Irene Spierin on Jul 15 2013 20:42

We had a very lovely stay in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. The double room was very roomy and the bed comfortable The staff were very attentive and eager to please. The food was very good and the helpings very generous.The short walk to the town centre was welcome after enjoying our evening meal. We look forwad to our next visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by maureen sterrett on Jul 15 2013 17:23

we had a lovely time in Athlone and were glad we picked the Shamrock Lodge Hotel, which was in a peaceful setting just five minutes from the centre of Athlone. The room was beautiful and the food excellent; will definitely consider a return visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by chrissie on Jul 11 2013 16:17

Hi we recently stayed at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel in Athlone. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the service in the bar restaurant was brilliant especially good with regarding food service.The gentleman at reception was the best we have ever experienced. He was outstanding hope he gets paid enough! The food quality was faultless as were the rooms. The only problem was the women working in the restaurants downstairs were clueless! would we use the hotel and recommend, undoughtedly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Damien Conlon on Mar 14 2013 06:49

I found the shamrock lodge to be a very nice hotel! We had a 3 course meal which was fantastic! Breakfast the next morning was beautiful as well! Staff were very friendly. One thing I didn't like about my stay was the bed. I had ordered a double bed but instead what I got was 2 single beds stuck together!! They weren't even stuck together properly and kept seperating during the night. The bed was also not made properly. Over all tho I enjoyed my stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Galwegians on Feb 27 2013 19:12

We enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay in The Hamrock Lodge Hotel. the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay there again,
 
 
 
 
 

by Rachel coyle on Feb 25 2013 11:13

Pleasant stay. Not much sleep got as the hotel was full of gaelic teams but over all great stay
 
 
 
 
 

by John Coyle on Feb 25 2013 09:38

We had a very nice, 1 night break. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. Rooms were spacious and clean.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sundance on Feb 19 2013 08:38

This Hotel is better than it's 3 star rating. The bedrooms are spacious, clean and quite.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa Glynn on Feb 5 2013 11:21

We really enjoyed our stay at the shamrock lodge hotel! On arrival we had a drink in the bar, which was nice clean and spacious! Rooms were ideal for our group booking. Beautifully laid out, had a meal in restaurant which was top class as was the breakfast!! Thanks for a great nite!!
 
 
 
 
 

by sab on Feb 4 2013 18:17

Had a fantastic stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. The hotel was beautiful, the staff very very helpful and friendly. we attended a civil ceremony and it was just lovely, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Athlone.
 
 
 
 
 

by patricia Murphy on Dec 31 2012 10:52

Lovely hotel, pleasant staff. Very clean and lovely ambience. Wished I had longer time to spend with you. Would recommend you to my family and friends. Would definitely book with you again. Brilliant value. Thank you. Patricia Murphy
 
 
 
 
 

by conell sammon on Nov 29 2012 11:41

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you Paddy for the wonderful welcome you extended to me on my recent visit.I certainly enjoyed the beautiful room you provided and the excellen meal.I will remember your hostpitality for a long time God bless you Paddy your family and your staff.Once again Paddy many thanks. If Gerry wishes to contact me my land line is 01582 556637.
 
 
 
 
 

by Kieron Sculthorpe on Nov 27 2012 10:37

Yes stayed here for two nights and found it a great hotel, lovely friendly staff and close to the town, we had a great time music in the bar on the Saturday night,would highly recommend this hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Teresa on Nov 27 2012 10:11

Staff very polite, apartment not equiped to have a drink or even tea as no sink to wash cup etc which was very disappointing. Over all very happy with the stay though.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer20420035 on Nov 22 2012 14:16

My family (2+2) enjoyed a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We stayed as part of the Hallowe'en package which included a chicken dinner. The dining area was quite basic but met our needs. The hotel is located a short walk from the main town area and staff were very helpful in giving directions. The rooms themselves were very comfortable and we found reception very helpful when we had additional request.
 
 
 
 
 

by Franz on Nov 4 2012 18:57

Very nice hotel with all the comforts! Side bar, great service! Good food. We recommend!
 
 
 
 
 

by Mairead on Nov 2 2012 21:45

Lots of room in the two bedroom apartments for a large family, kids loved having their own room with bathroom/tv etc. Clean and family friendly. Rooms warm and snug with storage heaters, but bedding felt a little damp upon arrival, so maybe better to stay there during summer months. Would definitely recommend it though, plus the bar food was very tasty and menu family friendly. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay ;-)
 
 
 
 
 

by roisin cox on Oct 26 2012 11:09

From the moment I entered until the time I drove away, I was made to feel that the staff would do everything to ensure I had the most enjoyable stay! It is a pity that I could only stay for the one night. It lived up to the excellent reviews, beautiful ultra modern hotel. The room was lovely, very clean, heated bathroom floor which were amazing steping out from under the waterfall shower and the most comfortable bed!! The pillows and quilt were like marshmallow !!
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul Keenan on Oct 16 2012 18:25

Amazing hotel, friendly staff and excellent rooms. Overall a very enjoyable stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Christina Charles on Sep 28 2012 13:10

Myself and my partner stayed in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel with four other friends, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the pleasent staff, delicious food and spacious clean rooms we will definitely be staying again. If were on holidays we will be keeping an eye out for the sister hotels around ireland because if its anything like the Shamrock we will enjoy our stay. :)
 
 
 
 
 

by Erica on Sep 26 2012 16:48

Loved this hotel! Very nice, great price, quiet, and very friendly service. The room was beautiful. Only complaint was that the bath tub was slow to drain during shower. We stayed Sunday sept 23rd and the man who worked at the front desk that night was extremely helpful!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Gary on Sep 25 2012 14:48

I enjoyed my stay at the Sahmrock Lodge Hotel. The room was perfect & served my every need. The staff were helpful and friendly. The bar staff were very friendly & accomodating when we asked for food after breakfast hours. Full marks all round to the staff & for the facilities.
 
 
 
 
 

by Pinklady on Sep 19 2012 12:39

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent and the food was also very good. Stayed for a wedding and it was a fantastic wedding as service, food, entertainment was excellent. Would return again, the only thing I would change is the bedrooms need to be painted or patched up.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lisa Masterson on Sep 11 2012 13:34

Lovely hotel, rooms very nice and clean. Staff cold of been friendlier on arrival but lovely girl on the desk when leaving. 3 star
 
 
 
 
 

by ashling on Sep 11 2012 08:40

stayed for a wedding and from our time of arrival to our departure the next day i found no faults with this hotel.The room was spacious and very modern and although there was a wedding and another function going on in the hotel none of these disturbed our sleep.Will definatley stay again.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland
Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Clonown Rd, Athlone, Co. Westmeath, Ireland  t: +353 (0)90 6492601  f:+353 (0)90 6492737 
Reservations and General Enquiries:

Copyright Shamrock Lodge Hotel 2012


Dublin Breaks I Galway Breaks I Wexford Breaks I Laois Breaks I UK Breaks I Mayo Breaks I Athlone Breaks I Cavan Breaks I Sligo Breaks I Limerick Breaks I Cork Breaks
Maldron Hotels I Active Retired Breaks I Gym Membership I Family Breaks I Weddings I Golf Breaks I Spa Breaks I Leisure Clubs I Meetings & Events
Maldron Hotel Belfast IMaldron Hotel Cardiff Lane Dublin I Maldron Hotel Parnell Square Dublin I Maldron Hotel Citywest Dublin I Maldron Hotel Smithfield Dublin I Maldron Hotel Tallaght Dublin
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff Wales I Maldron Hotel Portlaoise I Maldron Hotel Wexford I Maldron Hotel Cork I Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport I Maldron Hotel Limerick I Maldron Hotel Galway
Arklow Bay Hotel I Ballsbridge Hotel I Belvedere Hotel Parnell Square I BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel I Breaffy House Hotel I Clonmel Park Hotel I Creggan Court Hotel I Nuremore Hotel & Country Club I Shamrock Lodge Hotel I Springhill Court Hotel I Westlodge Hotel I

Fels Point Hotel I Hotel Ballina I Nuremore Hotel & Country Club I Pillo Hotel Ashbourne I Pillo Hotel Galway I Cavan Crystal Hotel I Citywest Hotel,Conference & Event Centre Dublin I Clarion Hotel Sligo I Clayton Hotel Galway I Clyde Court Hotel I Diamond Coast Hotel I Portlaoise Heritage Hotel I Whites of Wexford I Heritage Golf & Spa