Arrive:
Nights:
Enter Promotional code:    
 
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Gallery - Shamrock Lodge HotelSign Up to the Shamrock Lodge Hotel newletterWedding Brochure - Shamrock Lodge HotelWedding Enquiry Form - Shamrock Lodge HotelReviews - Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Read Reviews

Read Reviews (82)
(
4.32/5
) based on
82
reviews.

by Desmond mcguire on Aug 18 2014 07:21

Just returned from having a lovely stay at this hotel. Staff all very kind and Deidre on reception went out of her way to help with suggestions on places to eat and drink. Thanks again
 
 
 
 
 

by Frank Murphy on Aug 17 2014 08:49

The hotel is in a great location for a visit to Athlone, as it is only a five minute walk to the centre. A thumbs up to all the staff in the hotel, you feel welcomed from check in to check out, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are spacious, every area is spotless, the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is more that adequate to set you up for the day. We had a lovely time and would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family. Thank you to all the staff for making this a memorable stay for all the right reasons.
 
 
 
 
 

by joemac666 on Aug 15 2014 21:02

We booked this last minute and got a really good deal. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and the bar serves an excellent pint of guinness! No hesitation recommending this hotel and we will be back because Athlone is one of those places that for us never really came on the radar but is very friendly and welcoming and the Shamrock lodge is perfectly placed to explore the town etc. Thanks.
 
 
 
 
 

by D mcguire on Aug 14 2014 08:54

Excellent hotel really enjoyed our stay. Deidre on reception most knowledgeable and helpful.
 
 
 
 
 

by Elena on Aug 11 2014 21:46

Comfort at bargain price We stayed here one night paying only 52 euro (a bargain considering the level of the structure: huge and spotless room, with a small lounge inside, coffee facilities and very spacious bathroom). Staff a bit chilly, but We have to say that we arrived late at night just during the shift change between the two receptionists. Definitely stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by richard on Aug 9 2014 17:14

Have a great time food was great room was lovely and staff are very nice i give it a 5***** rate
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer85960566 on Aug 8 2014 11:54

Does what it say's on the box. Economical, Good clean comfortable quiet rooms, helpful staff in general, good parking only a short walk from town, 5 mins from main roads. We went for the D,B&B package over 3 nights, dinner OK, breakfast huge, Restaurant depressing, dull light no windows, balanced by cheerful helpful staff. We'd stay again for sure.
 
 
 
 
 

by Marie on Aug 6 2014 21:11

Stay here whenever I visit family in Athlone, very nice hotel, very comfortable and clean. Very friendly staff also. very good rates too which helps I would recommend your hotel to anyone I know visiting Athlone
 
 
 
 
 

by Louise o Shea on Aug 5 2014 08:55

Very friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable rooms and good food. Enjoyed our stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Big Fella on Jul 29 2014 07:15

A great hotel only a short walk from bars and restaurants. Reasonably priced with friendly, helpful staff. I always choose the Lodge when I stay in Athlone.
 
 
 
 
 

by Liam Kinsella on Jul 23 2014 09:30

First time in Athlone stay in hotel was wonderful, pleasant staff and price for 2 nights was excellent, .Will be back soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by Steve Vanden Bulcke on Jul 18 2014 09:42

I would recommend this hotel to other friends. Everybody was very friendly and helpfull. It's a good location to visit Clonmacnoise and Dublin (with the train). Thanks for everything, Steve
 
 
 
 
 

by ladyjane on Jul 11 2014 20:12

A very enjoyable stay at this hotel food excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Beds comfortable, Rooms and decor very dark could do with brightening up. Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.
 
 
 
 
 

by Damien on Jul 8 2014 19:10

Really enjoyed our stay, staff, accommodation and food were all of a high standard
 
 
 
 
 

by Noreen Cremin on Jul 7 2014 16:19

Lovely friendly hotel, all the staff very pleasant, food good and excellent value for money.
 
 
 
 
 

by Brendan wynne on Jun 29 2014 10:52

Excellent hotel, great service, food was top quality, close to town, bedrooms were good size, will stay again....
 
 
 
 
 

by Athlonian on May 1 2014 11:10

Friendly helpful staff. Situated within 10mins from town centre, also well situated to travel to other areas of interest i.e Clonmacnoise , Galway, Birr. Relaxing atmosphere.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne Marie Gannon on Apr 17 2014 14:51

We really enjoyed out stay last week, the hotel is beautiful on such lovely surroundings. all the staff were very nice and helpful, we definitely be back
 
 
 
 
 

by PK on Feb 9 2014 09:28

Excellent
 
 
 
 
 

by k.f on Jan 22 2014 15:39

stayed here recently for a wedding. could not have been happier. check in was quick and easy. room was spotless, comfortable and warm. staff were friendly and helpful, special mention to Melissa, the waitress at our table that day. she was extremely efficient and friendly. would definately reccommend the Shamrock Lodge for a break away.
 
 
 
 
 

by Michelle Wynne on Jan 18 2014 08:15

Lovely hotel! The rooms are big, warm and the bed is very comfortable! Staff are very friendly and helpful with anything you need. Really enjoyed my stay here :)
 
 
 
 
 

by Mike Dalton on Jan 7 2014 23:27

I stayed at the Shamrock Lodge last weekend, I found the rooms to be clean and well maintained and the staff friendly, I found the rooms to be great value and the Hotel is in close proximity to the town.
 
 
 
 
 

by Chris Hughes on Jan 1 2014 01:31

I stayed with my family, and it was enjoyable, clean, the food was excellent, the service was excellent to name Clodagh is excellent, will come back again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Irene henson on Dec 24 2013 10:30

Stayed on Saturday night after attending the party night. Food was great and plenty of it too and served piping hot:)) The room was excellent, comfortable and warm. The breakfast was great. The staff at the shamrock lodge hotel are very friendly and can't do enough for you. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Adrian Helliwell on Nov 26 2013 09:23

The hotel from the outside had a real authentic look on arrival and it was a slight shame there were automatic doors which sort of took that feel away. Inside was a mixture of modern and old which is nice though my wife did comment on it being a shame the staircase windows were not transparent. The rooms are great with all you need and the bathroom A1. Our only niggle would be the breakfast...it felt like a school canteen and the choice away from the fry was poor. The staff were all friendly and everywhere seemed clean. We will be returning. Thanks Adran Helliwell
 
 
 
 
 

by JB on Nov 18 2013 17:11

Our short stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel was perfect for our needs and they provided a simple but comfy two bed apartment, a welcoming environment and a fantastic breakfast. Thanks.
 
 
 
 
 

by damien foley on Nov 14 2013 19:43

Brillant hotel.lovely staff great food.cant wait to go back,little piece of heaven
 
 
 
 
 

by San on Nov 8 2013 12:22

Stayed for two night B and B and one dinner, nice cosy hotel, good size rooms and friendly staff, we had dinner on our second night and it was excellent, we look forward to staying here again
 
 
 
 
 

by Rosie on Oct 31 2013 08:51

We had an enjoyable stay in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel .From the moment we arrived the pleasant & helpful staff made us feel so welcome .Our family room had everything we needed . We had dinner in the beautiful restaurant & again the fantastic staff went out of their way for the children so that they could have what they wanted . Breakfast on the 2 mornings of our stay was lovely . Overall a lovely hotel with top quality & friendly staff , great value for money & family friendly . we would stay there again if in Athlone .
 
 
 
 
 

by Dan Smith on Oct 30 2013 08:28

Many thanks to all the staff at the Shamrock lodge hotel who made are stay very enjoyable. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with our four children and the room was excellent food was good and the staff were great with the kids, Hopefully will be back in the near future. Dan, and family
 
 
 
 
 

by margaret on Oct 24 2013 16:28

Hotel Staff very friendly and helpfull. Food Good and generally a very nice hotel to stay. I would certainly recommend this Hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by H Conway on Oct 18 2013 15:38

Enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel recently. Room very nicely done and spacious. Everything you need is there. Will definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Russell on Oct 3 2013 14:06

2 Nights B & B with 2 Dinners-excellent value, quality and value. All staff very courteous and helpful. Breakfast sets you up for the day and the 3 course evening meal provides an enjoyable end for the day.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dee on Aug 29 2013 18:33

Beautiful hotel, centrally located in the heart of the town. Surrounded by nice gardens and walkways. Ideal for families especially the apartments, which had fridge and microwave. Food was lovely and we were pleasantly surprised by evening entertainment on a Wednesday night!
 
 
 
 
 

by dolores on Aug 26 2013 13:29

Good value, friendly staff and close to town centre
 
 
 
 
 

by Eileen fallon on Aug 22 2013 21:27

Hotel lovely with nice food.busy weekend when I stayed but would have loved a table for breakfast by our selves and not stuck in at the end of long one,while lots of others remained free.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne T on Aug 20 2013 21:21

Busy hotel when we arrived as there was a wedding going on there but the very pleasant receptionist assured us that our bedroom would be nice and quiet as it was in the new wing of the hotel. How right she was. Lovely big double room, with a pullout bed set up for our son. Lovely quiet room. Nice breakfast , the following morning. I would be quite happy recommending this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Kathryn on Aug 17 2013 17:16

Very friendly staff from the reception to the bar, and breakfast in the morning. We stayed in the apartments attached to the main hotel which would have been more suited if we were staying for more than one night, but we were very happy with the great accommodation. Loads of space for a family, clean and well equipped. The bar was very nice and the food was good. Very well situated for the town, a short walk away. Family friendly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ian Butler on Aug 17 2013 10:55

We had an excellent stay in the Shamrock Lodge. The hotel and grounds were very pleasant. The room was luxurious, well appointed and quiet. The bar was busy with a good mix of locals and guests leading to a great atmosphere but the staff were friendly and efficient so service was very good. The hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet area just a short walk from the town centre. Following a lovely night in Athlone and drinks in the hotel the breakfast was brilliant with great quality of food and great service. It set us up nicely for another day of site seeing. We can't think of anything we could fault during our visit. Look forward to staying again on our next mini-break. Ian & Deirdre Butler
 
 
 
 
 

by Phelim on Aug 11 2013 21:30

Stayed for my sisters wedding. Outstanding value and wedding fair. Very comfortable room. An excellent wedding or relaxing location
 
 
 
 
 

by Gerry on Aug 11 2013 12:18

Perfect stay. Lovely staff, great food, nice quiet location but yet still very central to all amenities in athlone. Would stay there again no problem
 
 
 
 
 

by laura blair on Aug 6 2013 15:15

This hotel is beautiful , it is spotless ,great food and staff are lovely ,we attended a wedding here and it was fabulous .i would recommend this hotel for a wedding venue .
 
 
 
 
 

by Sandra on Aug 4 2013 09:27

The Triathlone took place on the weekend of our stay and due to road closures and lack of access to the hotel we almost switched to another hotel. However we are very glad that we did not. When we eventually checked in, the gentleman on reception was very apologetic and welcoming. The facilities for disabled guests were very good and the food was excellent. All staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very quiet despite hosting several functions and Triathlone participants. We hope to return at a future date when we have more time to enjoy the hotel and its gardens.
 
 
 
 
 

by Irene Spierin on Jul 15 2013 20:42

We had a very lovely stay in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. The double room was very roomy and the bed comfortable The staff were very attentive and eager to please. The food was very good and the helpings very generous.The short walk to the town centre was welcome after enjoying our evening meal. We look forwad to our next visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by maureen sterrett on Jul 15 2013 17:23

we had a lovely time in Athlone and were glad we picked the Shamrock Lodge Hotel, which was in a peaceful setting just five minutes from the centre of Athlone. The room was beautiful and the food excellent; will definitely consider a return visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by chrissie on Jul 11 2013 16:17

Hi we recently stayed at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel in Athlone. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the service in the bar restaurant was brilliant especially good with regarding food service.The gentleman at reception was the best we have ever experienced. He was outstanding hope he gets paid enough! The food quality was faultless as were the rooms. The only problem was the women working in the restaurants downstairs were clueless! would we use the hotel and recommend, undoughtedly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Damien Conlon on Mar 14 2013 06:49

I found the shamrock lodge to be a very nice hotel! We had a 3 course meal which was fantastic! Breakfast the next morning was beautiful as well! Staff were very friendly. One thing I didn't like about my stay was the bed. I had ordered a double bed but instead what I got was 2 single beds stuck together!! They weren't even stuck together properly and kept seperating during the night. The bed was also not made properly. Over all tho I enjoyed my stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Galwegians on Feb 27 2013 19:12

We enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay in The Hamrock Lodge Hotel. the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay there again,
 
 
 
 
 

by Rachel coyle on Feb 25 2013 11:13

Pleasant stay. Not much sleep got as the hotel was full of gaelic teams but over all great stay
 
 
 
 
 

by John Coyle on Feb 25 2013 09:38

We had a very nice, 1 night break. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. Rooms were spacious and clean.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland
Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Clonown Rd, Athlone, Co. Westmeath, Ireland  t: +353 (0)90 6492601  f:+353 (0)90 6492737 
Reservations and General Enquiries:

Copyright Shamrock Lodge Hotel 2012


Dublin Breaks I Galway Breaks I Wexford Breaks I Laois Breaks I UK Breaks I Mayo Breaks I Athlone Breaks I Cavan Breaks I Sligo Breaks I Limerick Breaks I Cork Breaks
Maldron Hotels I Active Retired Breaks I Gym Membership I Family Breaks I Weddings I Golf Breaks I Spa Breaks I Leisure Clubs I Meetings & Events
Maldron Hotel Belfast IMaldron Hotel Cardiff Lane Dublin I Maldron Hotel Parnell Square Dublin I Maldron Hotel Citywest Dublin I Maldron Hotel Smithfield Dublin I Maldron Hotel Tallaght Dublin
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff Wales I Maldron Hotel Portlaoise I Maldron Hotel Wexford I Maldron Hotel Cork I Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport I Maldron Hotel Limerick I Maldron Hotel Galway
Arklow Bay Hotel I Ballsbridge Hotel I Belvedere Hotel Parnell Square I BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel I Clonmel Park Hotel I Creggan Court Hotel I Nuremore Hotel & Country Club I Shamrock Lodge Hotel I Springhill Court Hotel I Westlodge Hotel I

Fels Point Hotel I Hotel Ballina I Nuremore Hotel & Country Club I Pillo Hotel Ashbourne I Pillo Hotel Galway I Cavan Crystal Hotel I Citywest Hotel,Conference & Event Centre Dublin I Clarion Hotel Sligo I Dundrum House Hotel I Clayton Hotel Galway I Clyde Court Hotel I Diamond Coast Hotel I Portlaoise Heritage Hotel I Pearse Street Hotel I Whites of Wexford I Heritage Golf & Spa