Arrive:
Nights:
Enter Promotional code:    
 
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Special Offers - Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Gallery - Shamrock Lodge HotelSign Up to the Shamrock Lodge Hotel newletterWedding Brochure - Shamrock Lodge HotelWedding Enquiry Form - Shamrock Lodge HotelReviews - Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Read Reviews

Read Reviews (121)
(
4.41/5
) based on
121
reviews.

by Sk on Jul 26 2015 15:07

Had a great stay, really big room, really clean, the bathroom is also big with a great shower and bath.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ciaran Sheehan on Jul 25 2015 21:23

I arrived with my partner between 10.30pm and 11pm and I was met by a smiling and friendly Deirdre at the front desk. It was late and I was famished so I decided to ask if it was possible to get something to eat. Deirdre immediately answered that she would check with the kitchen and would a couple of sandwiches fill the gap until morning. I was in the bar having a drink when the sandwiches duly arrived. Was I ever so happy to see a couple of sandwiches. The room was lovely, clean & airy. At breakfast the following morning there was an excellent mix of cereals, breads & fruit yoghurts. The waitress was friendly and attentive. I ordered a full Irish Breakfast and it arrived promptly, having been cooked to perfection. The grounds and hotel were kept in very good condition and we really enjoyed our short stay. Will definitely be back when visiting Athlone again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Maura on Jul 13 2015 09:47

We stayed here for 1 night. Lovely hotel, very reasonable rate. Rooms were lovely and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mark on Jul 6 2015 11:22

Very enjoyable stay friendly staff and great location, only a short walk to the river.
 
 
 
 
 

by Brian & Mary B on Jul 5 2015 15:59

The wife & I love, love loved the Shamrock. LOCATION = Perfect. The first stay was for two days right after landing at Dublin (we're from California) after 3 whirlwind days in the south of England. The idea was to spend two days catching our breath within easy walking distance of downtown while being away from the bustle. The Shamrock is literally a few minutes from Sean's Pub, the Shannon river and the rest Athlone has to offer. THE FACILITY = Excellent. I guess if your tastes run more to say, The Sheraton or Radisson you might find a minor thing or two to quibble over, but we found The Shamrock Lodge to be clean, well maintained and very nice. Add to this -- the attractiveness of the grounds (abundant grass, trees, shrubs) -- ample open-air parking (no underground concrete trap here) -- upscale dinning hall and authentic pub with food service (Food better than good) -- spotless rooms with tasteful decor AND vigorous shower/water pressure (unlike much of Ireland) -- good quality internet service, both wired (in the room) and wireless throughout the grounds THE STAFF = Excellent. Helpful without being intrusive BONUS Points -- in the rooms (at least the rooms we stay in, the windows open more than a crack, even on ground floor -- It's QUIET here, more like a stay in the country -- Athlone is delightful for a good sized town, and as everyone will tell you "It's in the center of Ireland" We enjoyed our stay enough to adjust our plans and, three weeks later spend our last two days in Ireland at The Shamrock - the second stay only confirmed our first experience.
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen Burke on Jul 2 2015 14:38

Check in was effortless. The room was clean and comfortable if a bit tired and dated. I couldn't use the over bath shower as I have a problem with mobility, if I had been staying longer I would have asked about a walk in shower. The bar staff were very pleasant. I was very disappointed with the choice and quality of breakfast, but I suppose this was reflected in the price. We had a problem with the TV and two of the lights didn't work, we did check if the switches worked
 
 
 
 
 

by Gail on Jun 12 2015 20:22

Large hotel, nice but showing its age. Bar food OK only. Good location within walking distance to downtown and driving distance to historic attractions.
 
 
 
 
 

by TERESA on Jun 7 2015 12:26

REALY ENJOYED MY STAY RELAXING PLACE , FOOD WAS JUST TOO GOOD. ALL STAFF FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. HOPE TO RETURN.
 
 
 
 
 

by H.E. Co. Wicklow on Jun 5 2015 10:25

Enjoyed our two day break. Hotel was comfortable and unexpectedly good value. Would stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Breege Kelly on Jun 1 2015 18:36

I was at the Wedding of Mark Gallagher and Aisling Gunning recently in Shamrock Lodge Hotel. Really enjoyed the day. Food was very good staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms very clean and comfortable. 9/10.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mrs Barbara Toms on May 14 2015 15:42

Good facilities splendid food and very friendly and helpful staff . Would highly recommend.
 
 
 
 
 

by Geraldine Monahan on May 11 2015 22:51

I stayed here after my nieces wedding and was very happy with the service i got, The staff where always helpful. Room was clean and cosy, towels and bed linen where also clean,,,
 
 
 
 
 

by Derbhla Flaherty on May 6 2015 16:20

Had a beautiful stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel a few nights ago. The place itself is lovely and the room was amazing for a really good price. I rate this the full 5 stars as I really believe it deserves it. The staff at reception were lovely and gave us all the information we needed to know. I was recommended this Hotel and I will definitely be recommending this to my friends. Thank you very much, Derbhla Flaherty.
 
 
 
 
 

by anthony collins on Apr 19 2015 11:07

had 2 wonderful nights in the shamrock lodge 15th/16th april'thanks to deirdre/deborah/ruairi the most pleasent receptionist's anyone could wish to meet they are so helpful no mater how busy they are''our room was big and spotless the bathroom was spotless and has the best shower i ever come across a big thank you to the chamber maids''thanks to fintan/daniel in the bar for their wonderful service ''the food is excellent from the lovely breakfast to the very excellent dinner and a great menu thanks to the chef and waiting staff''to paddy the owener who is a gentleman and to you alan for running the hotel so well'''we have stayed in many hotels across ireland the shamrock lodge athlone cmes out tops and is our no1 hotel to stay in ''we have stayed in the shamrock lodge 5 times in the last 2 years and each stay never fails to live up to our expectations it always feels like home'''thanks again to all your staff in the shamrock lodge hotel athlone and we will see you in early september''''''''''anthony collins lucan co dublin
 
 
 
 
 

by Vladislavs Sulins on Apr 19 2015 10:54

We stayed in the apartment for 2 nights in April. The suite is spacious and clean, with two toilets, one shower and bathroom . The suite overlooks the backyard, which is a beautiful green area. The nights were quiet and calm, good sleep quality. Place is charming and cozy, and with a modern edge. :-) I would definitely stay here again! I liked this place because: - staff is charming and polite, helpful and smiling - room is clean and spacious - breakfast is great, :-) You can also choose from a many of warm dishes for breakfast, - a ten minute walk to Athlon castle - beds were very comfortable, I slept very well -Cattle, fridge, microwave , TV, coffee and tee, were in the apartment I will most likely stay at this hotel. :-) Thank you for nice place.
 
 
 
 
 

by Es on Apr 17 2015 20:03

Hotel clean and tidy, stayed for two nights. Quiet and peaceful, breakfast not much to shout about but bar food was lovely. Staff nice, young barman the nicest of all. Would return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Liam on Apr 5 2015 01:39

I stayed at the Shamrock Lodge for one night for a friend's wedding. The Hotel was very easy to find with plenty parking. The hotel was very good value.I would stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by helena coleman on Mar 31 2015 13:41

I stayed 2 nights in Shamrock Lodge for a friend's wedding. The staff and food at the wedding were great. It was a little disappointing that people stayed in the lobby and bar for the wedding band, which took from the atmosphere. The apartments were ideal for a group of friends. The hotel was great value and perfect location for walking into town. Would definetely stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary McNamara on Jan 17 2015 10:36

We enjoyed our recent stay at the hotel and were made very welcome and comfortable. Indeed our family has a long connection with the Shamrock Lodge, going back many years. Two things to mention (constructively!). We have come to expect availability of complimentary wifi on our travels and, secondly, we were disappointed when we could not see a programme on UTV. Thanks.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dave on Dec 15 2014 13:43

Very relaxing; there was no disturbances the night I stayed so I had a very peaceful sleep. Loved the shower the following morning; the large shower head drenches you in warm water; really nice. Breakfast was good and the staff are friendly. I was there mid week on business and strongly recommend the hotel for someone who wants to relax after a days work and recharge the batteries for the following day.
 
 
 
 
 

by yvette on Dec 2 2014 08:50

Food was delicious had a mouthwatering burger in the bar and the choice was huge for breakfast didn't know where to start. Pleasant surprise. Thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by AMNeatham on Nov 16 2014 22:02

Shamrock Lodge is a lovely hotel. We were there for a family reunion, there were 2 other large events in the hotel, and they were able to keep them all as individual events. It never felt crowded or too noisy. The food was lovely and the room quiet and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel and be happy to stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Davina Farrell on Nov 5 2014 18:47

Stayed for a 2 night stay excellent hotel fab rooms gorg food in both bar and restaurant, also staff couldn't be nicer to us and the kids, overall a great hotel and defo be back. Davina Farrell Ardee
 
 
 
 
 

by Caoimhe McGowan on Nov 3 2014 21:36

Stayed in the apartments. Was delighted with the accommodation very spacious and extremely clean. Would recommend to anyone.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mrs ita Cunningham on Oct 31 2014 11:41

Our stay at the Shamrock lodge Hotel was excellent. We found the Hotel very warm and inviting with very friendly and helpful staff We complement the sheff who provided a very tasty four course meal which was very well presented. I would recommend this hotel to our friends and family. Thank you. Mr and Mrs Cunningham
 
 
 
 
 

by con oleary on Oct 28 2014 17:49

Myself and my wife stayed for a weekend in your hotel .We had a great time the hotel was lovely the bedroom was spotless and nice and big.The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you .Food was of a high standard and will visit again .I highly recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by geoff/rita on Oct 14 2014 10:30

great hotel staff and room excellent bar prices reasonable would recommend to all.
 
 
 
 
 

by evelyn on Oct 9 2014 12:46

Had a wonderful re-union with some of our old friends in your hotel. Staff great and very friendly, food excellent. We will definitely return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Colm Durcan on Oct 6 2014 13:03

Just out of this world excellent. Thank you.
 
 
 
 
 

by Colm Durcan on Oct 5 2014 13:00

Absolutely excellent
 
 
 
 
 

by Mogs on Oct 1 2014 09:20

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment which exceeded expectations. The hotel is set in beautiful quiet grounds and is relaxed and friendly. Staff are so accommodating and willing to help. Rooms are clean and very well appointed, comfortable with everything one could want. Breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend the Shamrcok Lodge to say and the apartments are a dream for friends and family.
 
 
 
 
 

by Shane Connolly on Sep 25 2014 17:07

Great location just a 5 minute walk from the town centre and river Shannon. Lovely grounds and contemporary decor inside the hotel. Staff were very friendly and extremely accomodating, rooms were clean, contemporary and spacious. Food for both breakfast and dinner was excellent and well presented. Delighted with our stay here. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a nice break away. Shane
 
 
 
 
 

by anthony collins on Sep 19 2014 08:09

thanking all the staff in the shamrock lodge for making our stay so enjoyible the reservation sstaff were so helpful and so friendly throught out our stay; the room 104 was perfect a nice big room and very clean and spotless; the food from the sunday carvery to our evening meals were fabulos and the bar staff were so friendly; the hotel it self is wonderful so charming and its in such an idilic place; we have no problem telling our family and friends theres only one hotel to stay in when they are going to athlone for a break ;your special deal for the golden years is the best there is by far ;you cant beat a well run family hotel and wonderful staff; thanks again paddy & alan and all your staff ;;;;;;;;;anthony&breda collins 1a esker cottages lucan co dublin
 
 
 
 
 

by nicola judge on Sep 18 2014 14:23

had a lovely stay at the hotel...staff are friendly....food lovely.....bedrooms are very nice and cleaned....lovely place to stay thank you for my stay....Keep up the good work :)
 
 
 
 
 

by Annie on Sep 7 2014 21:43

Stayed with 2 friend on a 3 on a golden years package . Rooms spotless . meals excellent and staff very helpful . We would recommend it to our friends Anne
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen Conway on Sep 6 2014 22:35

My Mother and I had a lovely stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel recently. I would recommend it to my friends. Lovely rooms. Lovely food. All in all, a great place to stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Rachel Connolly on Sep 6 2014 12:30

Excellent staff gorgeous room, bar food especially the steak was the nicest I've tasted! Breakfast was run brilliantly and there was loads to choose from! My second time staying here and I will definitely be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by Joe on Aug 29 2014 10:38

Excellent. Room was excellent and family friendly. Staff were excellent and food was excellent. No complaints whatsoever. Have stayed there before and will do again in the future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Hugh fay on Aug 28 2014 13:15

Found staff friendly,and room warm and spacious p
 
 
 
 
 

by Desmond mcguire on Aug 18 2014 07:21

Just returned from having a lovely stay at this hotel. Staff all very kind and Deidre on reception went out of her way to help with suggestions on places to eat and drink. Thanks again
 
 
 
 
 

by Frank Murphy on Aug 17 2014 08:49

The hotel is in a great location for a visit to Athlone, as it is only a five minute walk to the centre. A thumbs up to all the staff in the hotel, you feel welcomed from check in to check out, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are spacious, every area is spotless, the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is more that adequate to set you up for the day. We had a lovely time and would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family. Thank you to all the staff for making this a memorable stay for all the right reasons.
 
 
 
 
 

by joemac666 on Aug 15 2014 21:02

We booked this last minute and got a really good deal. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and the bar serves an excellent pint of guinness! No hesitation recommending this hotel and we will be back because Athlone is one of those places that for us never really came on the radar but is very friendly and welcoming and the Shamrock lodge is perfectly placed to explore the town etc. Thanks.
 
 
 
 
 

by D mcguire on Aug 14 2014 08:54

Excellent hotel really enjoyed our stay. Deidre on reception most knowledgeable and helpful.
 
 
 
 
 

by Elena on Aug 11 2014 21:46

Comfort at bargain price We stayed here one night paying only 52 euro (a bargain considering the level of the structure: huge and spotless room, with a small lounge inside, coffee facilities and very spacious bathroom). Staff a bit chilly, but We have to say that we arrived late at night just during the shift change between the two receptionists. Definitely stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by richard on Aug 9 2014 17:14

Have a great time food was great room was lovely and staff are very nice i give it a 5***** rate
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer85960566 on Aug 8 2014 11:54

Does what it say's on the box. Economical, Good clean comfortable quiet rooms, helpful staff in general, good parking only a short walk from town, 5 mins from main roads. We went for the D,B&B package over 3 nights, dinner OK, breakfast huge, Restaurant depressing, dull light no windows, balanced by cheerful helpful staff. We'd stay again for sure.
 
 
 
 
 

by Marie on Aug 6 2014 21:11

Stay here whenever I visit family in Athlone, very nice hotel, very comfortable and clean. Very friendly staff also. very good rates too which helps I would recommend your hotel to anyone I know visiting Athlone
 
 
 
 
 

by Louise o Shea on Aug 5 2014 08:55

Very friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable rooms and good food. Enjoyed our stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Big Fella on Jul 29 2014 07:15

A great hotel only a short walk from bars and restaurants. Reasonably priced with friendly, helpful staff. I always choose the Lodge when I stay in Athlone.
 
 
 
 
 

by Liam Kinsella on Jul 23 2014 09:30

First time in Athlone stay in hotel was wonderful, pleasant staff and price for 2 nights was excellent, .Will be back soon.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland
Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Clonown Rd, Athlone, Co. Westmeath, Ireland  t: +353 (0)90 6492601  f:+353 (0)90 6492737 
Reservations and General Enquiries:

Copyright Shamrock Lodge Hotel 2012


Dublin Breaks I Galway Breaks I Wexford Breaks I Laois Breaks I UK Breaks I Mayo Breaks I Athlone Breaks I Cavan Breaks I Sligo Breaks I Limerick Breaks I Cork Breaks
Maldron Hotels I Active Retired Breaks I Gym Membership I Family Breaks I Weddings I Golf Breaks I Spa Breaks I Leisure Clubs I Meetings & Events
Maldron Hotel Belfast IMaldron Hotel Cardiff Lane Dublin I Maldron Hotel Parnell Square Dublin I Maldron Hotel Smithfield Dublin I Maldron Hotel Tallaght Dublin
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff Wales I Maldron Hotel Portlaoise I Maldron Hotel Wexford I Maldron Hotel Cork I Maldron Hotel Derry I Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport I Maldron Hotel Pearse Street Maldron Hotel Limerick I Maldron Hotel Galway
Aghadoe Heights Hotel I Ballsbridge Hotel I Belvedere Hotel Parnell Square I BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel I Shamrock Lodge Hotel I Westlodge Hotel

Fels Point Hotel I Fitzwilton Hotel I Hotel Ballina I Pillo Hotel Ashbourne I Pillo Hotel Galway I Cavan Crystal Hotel I Clarion Hotel Sligo I Dundrum House Hotel I Clayton Hotel Galway I Clyde Court Hotel I Diamond Coast Hotel I Shearwater Hotel I Whites of Wexford